Screenresolution problem

Screenresolution problem

Postby Marc Vanzegbroeck » Tue Sep 19, 2006 9:22 pm

Hi,

I have a dialog, and on one of my customers PC, the dialog is stretched...

Can anyone tell be how I can avoid that.

Here are screendumps of my program on 3 different resolution, and only on the last one (customers PC) the dialog is stretched. You can alsu see the the button-bar on the 'bad' one has now more empty space at the right. Also the bitmap's are distort :(

http://www.vms.be/FWTest/Screenresoluti ... index.html

Thanks,
Marc
Marc Vanzegbroeck
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:41 am
Location: Belgium

Postby Detlef Hoefner » Wed Sep 20, 2006 6:33 am

Hi Marc,

i had a similar problem.
To solve this i made different dialogs for the same screen.
Code: Select all  Expand view
LOCAL nScreenRes  := goWnd:nHorzRes()


   if nScreenRes == 640
      cDialog  := "SIGNALE_640"
         elseif nScreenRes == 800
      cDialog := "SIGNALE_800"
         else
      cDialog  := "SIGNALE_1024"
         endif

   DEFINE DIALOG oDlg NAME cDialog

But somestimes the screen ratio also depends on the system font size.
So a system font of 120% width will distort your dialogs.

Regards,
Detlef
User avatar
Detlef Hoefner
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 9:12 am
Location: Germany

Postby Marc Vanzegbroeck » Wed Sep 20, 2006 7:00 am

Detlef,

Thanks for your reply. I was thinking of doing something like that, but on a 1024x768 and 1280x1024 it works fine. It doesnt even 'stretch the dialog.
Only on my customer PC with a resolution on 1400x1050 I have some problems.

What kind of dialog should I make than, because I think that the PC also will stretch that dialog. I think that the problem is not the screenresolution, because the ratio of the tested scrlem will probeeen are almost the same. The 1280x1028 doest not enlarge the dialog, only the 1400x1050.
I think the probably, like you say, the system font or something else.

Regards,
Marc
Marc Vanzegbroeck
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:41 am
Location: Belgium

Postby Marc Vanzegbroeck » Wed Sep 20, 2006 7:41 am

I just tested it with large fonts, on my 1280x1024 PC and that give no difference.
I just asked my customer that he have some other special settings, but he told me that the only thing he had changed is the colors to silver.
So I think it have something to do with his videodriver.

Does anyone have some other ideas to solve this problem?

Thanks,
Marc
Marc Vanzegbroeck
 
Posts: 1157
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 5:41 am
Location: Belgium


Return to FiveWin for CA-Clipper

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron