In place tooltips!

In place tooltips!

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:29 pm

A new Class TToolTip for FWH 8.09, that allows to use in place tooltips!

test.prg
Code: Select all  Expand view
// In place tooltips demo

#include "FiveWin.ch"

function Main()

   local oWnd, oSay1, oSay2, oSay3

   DEFINE WINDOW oWnd TITLE "Tooltips in place test"

   @ 2, 2 SAY oSay1 PROMPT "This is a tooltips test for any text length" COLOR "N/W*"
     
   oSay1:lWantClick = .T.
   oSay1:bMMoved = { || ShowTooltip( oSay1 ) }
   
   @ 4, 2 SAY oSay2 PROMPT "This is another long text" COLOR "N/R*"

   oSay2:lWantClick = .T.
   oSay2:bMMoved = { || ShowTooltip( oSay2 ) }

   @ 6, 2 SAY oSay3 PROMPT "FiveWin power!" COLOR "N/G*"

   oSay3:lWantClick = .T.
   oSay3:bMMoved = { || ShowTooltip( oSay3 ) }

   ACTIVATE WINDOW oWnd

return nil

function ShowTooltip( oSay )

   if oSay:Cargo == nil
      oSay:Cargo = TToolTip():New( oSay, oSay:GetText() )
      oSay:Cargo:SetWidth( 1000 )
   endif
   
return nil     

Image
Image
Image
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Aug 26, 2008 1:34 pm

Here you have the EXE to test it:

http://rapidshare.com/files/140252181/test.zip.html
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby James Bott » Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:13 pm

Antonio,

Could you explain how this new tooltip is different than the tooltips we already had?

Regards,
James
User avatar
James Bott
 
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:55 pm

James,

These are tooltips that appear when the user hovers the mouse over a string that cannot be displayed in its entirety. The tooltip overlays the partially-displayed text and provides the remainder of the text that had been truncated.

Windows uses them in treeviews and some other controls. Now we can use them too where we may need them or want them to be shown.

Please notice that the tooltip is placed in the same location of the control and not below it.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Silvio » Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:15 pm

Dear Antonio ,
last year I wanted to create a new ttooltip class but there is some one let me sad it is was no usefull because we can use tooltip of fivewin.

My idea was to create this
Look it please http://www.devcomponents.com/dotnetbar/ ... ltips.aspx
Best Regards, Saludos

Falconi Silvio
User avatar
Silvio
 
Posts: 3107
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:28 pm
Location: Teramo,Italy

Postby hag » Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:30 pm

Antonio:

When is 809 to be released?
Thank you
Harvey
hag
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: LOs Angeles, California

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:56 pm

Harvey,

809 --> 8 means the year (2008), 09 means the month (september) :-)

http://forums.fivetechsoft.com/viewtopic.php?t=5260
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:58 pm

Silvio,

Better use a dialogbox instead of them, so you can implement all sort of features :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby hag » Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:36 pm

Antonio
> 09 --> 8 means the year (2008), 09 means the month (september)

I know all that. How about Sept date? Could use the new tooltip feature now.
Thank you
Harvey
hag
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: LOs Angeles, California

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:30 pm

Harvey,

Are you using FWH 8.08 ?

If yes, then you could beta test this new tooltips feature. 8.08 code, with some changes, is required for it.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby hag » Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:44 pm

I think I'm using 807 but will check.

Antonio:
How do I get copies of HBZIP.LIB and ZLIB.lib for Harbour. Need to have zip features in program.
Thank you
Harvey
hag
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: LOs Angeles, California

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:46 pm

Harvey,

Are you using Harbour or xHarbour ?
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby hag » Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:50 pm

Harbour...
Thank you
Harvey
hag
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: LOs Angeles, California

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:59 pm

Harvey,

Please review this library and the included examples,

http://rapidshare.com/files/140599223/hbmzip.zip.html
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41449
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:02 pm

hag wrote:How do I get copies of HBZIP.LIB and ZLIB.lib for Harbour. Need to have zip features in program.


The correct libraries for the current Harbour are

hbziparch.lib
hbzlib.lib

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8398
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Next

Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Giovany Vecchi, Google [Bot] and 83 guests