Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:01 pm

Don,

Not sure if this may be related but in your make you are missing /NODEFAULTLIB:libc when calling link.exe
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:07 pm

Don,

FiveHM.lib and FiveHCM.lib are for MS VC98 (the one which it is compatible with PellesC).

For MS VS2010 you have to use FiveH32.lib and FiveHC32.lib
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:19 pm

Don,

I also noticed that you are using /O2 and -GA when calling cl.exe. We don't use them but I don't think they may affect.

Anyhow, you may try to rebuild everything without them, thanks
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby DonDrew » Sat Apr 20, 2013 8:48 pm

Thank you Antonio for looking at my make file. That's a big help. I've implemented the changes you suggested. Unfortunately they didn't fix my problem.

Please let me know if you have any more ideas.
DonDrew
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby Antonio Linares » Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:03 am

Don,

Could you email me your app sources so I build it here ?

Or could we have a TeamViewer session ? In a few minutes I may discover whats going on...
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby Antonio Linares » Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:28 am

Don,

Please remove /force:multiple when calling link.exe and let me know the warnings and/or errors that you get, thanks
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby DonDrew » Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:10 pm

Antonio,
That "forcemultiple" switch was used to force the linker to accept my own customized version of errsysw over the built-in FWH error handler. I've already removed my errsysw.obj and the force switch from my make file. That change didn't cure my problem.

BTW, don't you ever take a day off?
DonDrew
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby Antonio Linares » Sun Apr 21, 2013 2:45 pm

Don,

Try to remove some OBJs from your make file. If you get unresolved externals, add a dummy PRG with just the functions declarations, i.e.:

function test() ; return nil

until you reach a point where it starts.

Important: If you place a MsgInfo() at the very beginning of your app, does it shows ?

Knowing that you have difficulties, I want to do my best to help you :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby DonDrew » Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:59 pm

I tried adding a Msginfo() at the beginning of my program, but it never appears. The program will not load.

I wonder if the problem isn't related to my resources. Originally I was using the Pelles IDE to edit and compile my RC file. Now I'm using the Pelles editor to maintain my various dialogs et cetera but compiling the RC with the compiler to compile the RES. Is it possible that there might be some incompatiblity between the Pelles-authored RC and the Microsoft comiler?

Would you be willing to take a glance at my RC?


Thanks for your help.
DonDrew
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby DonDrew » Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:02 pm

oops left out a word:

compiling the RC with the MICROSOFTcompiler to compile the RES
DonDrew
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby Antonio Linares » Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:25 pm

You should use the rc.exe that comes with MS VS2010, don't use a RES from another resources compiler:

set sdkdir="%ProgramFiles%\Microsoft SDKs\Windows\v7.0A"
%sdkdir%\bin\rc.exe -r -d__FLAT__ -I%sdkdir%\include yourfile.rc

have you tried this ? Did it solved the problem ?
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby DonDrew » Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:01 am

Found it!

As soon as I reinsert this short function into my main program it will nolonger launch.

It worked in my previous version, why does it choke the new one?

Code: Select all  Expand view
     IF ISEXERUNNING( CFILENOEXT( HB_ARGV( 0 ) ) )
      SHOWWINDOW( FINDWINDOW( 0, "Accident Benefit Association" ), 9 )
      SETFOREGROUNDWINDOW( FINDWINDOW( 0, "Accident Benefit Association" ) )
      RETURN NIL
   ENDIF
 
DonDrew
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby Antonio Linares » Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:14 am

Don,

Please simplify it to know what functions has the problem:

Code: Select all  Expand view

     IF ISEXERUNNING( CFILENOEXT( HB_ARGV( 0 ) ) )
      // SHOWWINDOW( FINDWINDOW( 0, "Accident Benefit Association" ), 9 )
      // SETFOREGROUNDWINDOW( FINDWINDOW( 0, "Accident Benefit Association" ) )
      RETURN NIL
   ENDIF
 


Or step by step:

MsgInfo( hb_argv( 0 ) )

// MsgInfo( cFileNoExt( hb_argv( 0 ) ) )

// MsgInfo( ISEXERUNNING( CFILENOEXT( HB_ARGV( 0 ) ) )

...

uncomment one by one until you find the culprit, thanks :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby DonDrew » Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:25 am

I restored the function to the wrong place in my prg. :oops:
DonDrew
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 5:38 pm

Re: Upgrading FWH/xHarbour & VS 2010

Postby Antonio Linares » Mon Apr 22, 2013 11:32 am

Don,

Is it solved now ? Or does it keep failing ? thanks
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41366
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

PreviousNext

Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 26 guests