Page 1 of 1

Unrecoverable Error 9001

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 7:18 pm
by TimStone
A client bought a "refurbished" computer with XP Pro. When we try to start my program on that machine, we get a pop up alert that has the banner Unrecoverable Error 9001 and a message that says Unrecoverable Error.

This is not in the typical FW error message. I have not seen this before, and don't know if it is from our program, or caused by Windows XP, or perhaps some other program.

I do use Advantage RDD and in this case he would be running local server. However it does not say this is an ADS error. A 9001 would be an illegal use of memory in ADS.

Has anyone else experienced this type of error and found a clue as to what it means ? I know its not a FW or xHarbour error, but I also know there are a lot of sharp, experienced, people here who may have experienced something similar.

Thanks.

Tim

PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:02 pm
by Jonathan Hodder
Hi Tim

9001 -- Database RDD failed to load
Explanation: The runtime system has failed to detect an RDD loaded
in an application that requires one.

Action: Refer to Actions and Notes under 999 and 1011. Check third
party .LIBraries for compatibility and version. Check link script and
order. Look for missing RDD .LIBrary or .OBJ files. The .EXE may be
invalid.

See Also: "Linking" and "Debugger" chapters of the Programming and
Utilities Guide.

Could be authorisation to access.
Try logging in as administrator....

Jonathan Hodder

Resource

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 4:25 pm
by TimStone
Thanks. What is the resource from which you quoted ?

Tim

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 8:50 pm
by Ken Wantz
Tim,

I found the info you are asking about in the 5.3 CA-Clipper Error Messages and Appendices Guide. It is listed under the Runtime Unrecoverable Error Messages section on page 5-66. It is NOT listed in the 5.2 guide. The question is; is this description relevant for (x)Harbour?

In the xHarbour Include folder look at the Error.ch file toward the end of the file; it says:
#define #define HB_EI_ERRRECFAILURE 9001 /* "Error recovery failure" */

The question is, which is the correct description for the error you are getting? You might want to post your question in the xHarbour forum.

I took a few minutes to look at some obvious xHarbour files to see if I could find where this error gets posted but I had no luck. Also there is nothing currently on the xHarbour forum that refers to an error 9001.

Ken

PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 9:02 pm
by Antonio Linares
Tim,

Do you get an error.log file ?

Could you set some traces (MsgInfo() or LogFile()) to find where the error comes from ?

Error

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 12:08 am
by TimStone
Antonio,

Nope ... no error file. It doesn't create one. It does show the message "Error Recovery Failure" so I wish I knew what that meant. It must be from xHarbour.

Tim

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 5:07 am
by Jonathan Hodder
Hi Tim

I’m preaching to the converted as I’m sure you know how to trace an error Tim!

Try Antonio’s tracing. I’ve also used TONE(1000,3) TONE(1200,3), TONE 800,3) etc as there is no wait state.

Error tracing like this needs the computer to be online I use Teamviewer and PCAnywhere.

Back to 9001 – I’ve not come across this in particular. All other errors numbers I’ve had in xH have been exactly as per clipper errors. The quote above was copied from Clipper 5.3 Help file. It’s also in the manuals. If you think it’s the RDD unable to be loaded I can give you contacts of a couple of very helpful people who know ADS inside out.

Good luck!

Jonathan Hodder

Re: Error

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 11:49 am
by Patrick Mast
Hello Tim,

TimStone wrote:Nope ... no error file. It doesn't create one. It does show the message "Error Recovery Failure" so I wish I knew what that meant. It must be from xHarbour.

Ok, please try to have dbgViewer.exe open when the error occurs. The Unrecoverable Error 9001 does not produce a LOG file, but it sends some info regarding stack to via OutPutDebugString() to the dbgViewer.exe

You can download the free dbgViewer.exe from here:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... 96647.aspx

Patrick

Re: Error

PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 12:05 pm
by Patrick Mast
This was food for a Quick Tip Blogpost! ;-)
http://www.xHarbour.com/blog

Patrick

9001 Error

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 3:39 pm
by TimStone
I doubt the problem is in the application itself, but rather it is caused by something on this computer or its configuration.

The exact same program is loaded on 100's of workstations and I've never seen this occur. In this case, the client bought a refurbished computer to use as a workstation, and the error occurs.

I was looking for some things to look for tha might stimulate the error code. I really didn't want to get into the process of playing with the program itself because it works fine everywhere else.

Tim

PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 6:12 pm
by Ken Wantz
Tim,

At the following location, www.itlnet.net/Programming/Program/Reference/c53g02c/ng3c5c4.html, There you will find a list of Clipper error code explanations. The following describes the 9001 error and the information referred to in the two links. Error 1011 may have some relevance but deals more with 16 bit Clipper code, not xHarbour or FiveWin.

9001 Database RDD failed to load

Explanation: The runtime system has failed to detect an RDD loaded
in an application that requires one.

Action: Refer to Actions and Notes under 999 and 1011. Check third
party .LIBraries for compatibility and version. Check link script and
order. Look for missing RDD .LIBrary or .OBJ files. The .EXE may be
invalid.

See Also: "Linking" and "Debugger" chapters of the Programming and
Utilities Guide.

999 Attempt to execute invalid code

Explanation: CA-Clipper has attempted to execute something that it
does not recognize as valid CA-Clipper code. This error can occur if an
attempt is made to execute code compiled with a new version of
CA-Clipper under an older version, or because of a corrupted or invalid
executable.

Action: Make sure that all code is compiled under the same version
of CA-Clipper and is being linked with the correct version of the
libraries. If a third-party linker is used, see if the error occurs
when using CA-Clipper/Exospace or Blinker. If a corrupted executable is
suspected, recompile all .OBJ files and relink

1011 Read/write access in index page failed

Explanation: CA-Clipper has attempted to read or write to an index
page. This error can occur if a the stack has become corrupted or there
is insufficient stack space. This may be due to a corrupted or invalid
.EXE.

Action: Try increasing the STACK or PROCEDURE DEPTH. Check for
memory conflicts that could cause a corruption of the index buffer. Try
disabling the EMS with the //E:0 in SET CLIPPER. If using third-party
RDDs, try increasing the stack space. If using structural indexes
(.CDX, .MDX), delete the index file and recreate. Resolve all linker
warnings and errors. Recompile all .OBJs and relink. Check all third
party RDD version compatibility.

Also, I found a thread from another user from four years ago which is old but sounds similar to your problem. It is long so I will only provide the link. Oddly, his name is also Tim but signs on with the user name ML. The responses to the 9001 error are from Mark Wilkins at Advantage R & D
delphi.newswhat.com/geoxml/forumhistorythread?groupname=Advantage.General&messageid=4140fa5d@solutions.advantagedatabase.com

Ken

Solution Found

PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 1:41 pm
by TimStone
Apparently the folder on the server was unshared. Accessing it from a client machine returned the 9001 error.

The folder had been previously marked shared, and I have no idea how the status changed.

Apparently the OS did not pass back a specific error code to xHarbour which issues a 9001 as an undefined error.

As I suspected, the problem had nothing to do with the actual program code.

Tim