metro buttons (solved)

metro buttons (solved)

Postby Richard Chidiak » Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:44 am

Good morning

I am testing the metro interface,

i have compiled touch.prg and run it in fwh\samples folder , i can see the complete process

When i copy the touch.exe to my directory and the appropriate bitmaps, i can not see some of the images and at the company xbrowse , buttons have no action fired

Is there a particular dll or anything else that has to be present for this purpose ?

My freeimage.dll is the same than fwh.

Thanks for help,
Last edited by Richard Chidiak on Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.cbati.com

Uestudio
Fwh 13.05 Harbour 3.2 MSVC 2013
User avatar
Richard Chidiak
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: France

Re: metro buttons

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Fri Apr 12, 2013 6:31 am

There is no separate dll or anything else that is to be present.

The bitmap files should be available exactly in the same path as specified in the prg.
You may modify the path of the bmp files depending where you keep the bmp files while deploying.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10254
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Re: metro buttons

Postby Richard Chidiak » Fri Apr 12, 2013 7:13 am

The path is ok

i have a msginfo for the file names and it returns ok

IF file("..\bitmaps\AlphaBmp\handnew.bmp")
MSGINFO("handnew ok")
ELSE
MSGINFO("handnew absent")
ENDIF

DEFINE IMAGE oImgTouch FILENAME "..\bitmaps\AlphaBmp\handnew.bmp"
DEFINE IMAGE oImgEnd FILENAME "..\bitmaps\pngs\end.png"

the above 2 lines are not showing ...., what can prevent them ?

any idea ?

using fwh 13.02 windows 8 pro harbour
http://www.cbati.com

Uestudio
Fwh 13.05 Harbour 3.2 MSVC 2013
User avatar
Richard Chidiak
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: France

Re: metro buttons

Postby ukoenig » Fri Apr 12, 2013 11:18 am

Richard,

working with different path-defines, I save the path-structure to a array, to avoid mistakes.
( better to handle ).

Code: Select all  Expand view

#include "FiveWin.ch"
#include "metropnl.ch"
#include "xbrowse.ch"

#define CLR_DIALOGS RGB( 123, 140, 223 )

static oWnd, oFontLarge, oFontMed, oFontUL, oFontSmall, c_Path[5]

//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//

FUNCTION MAIN()
local oVSlider, oImgTouch, oImgEnd

// starting from the FWH-sub-dir SAMPLES !

c_path[1] := cFilePath(GetModuleFileName( GetInstance() ) ) // Appl..path = Subdir of FWH
// MsgAlert( c_path[1], "Application-path ( Subdirectory SAMPLES of FWH\ )" )

lChDir( "..\" )  
c_path[2] := GETCURDIR() + "
\"
// MsgAlert( c_path[2], "
Get Fwh-Main" )

c_path[3] := c_path[2] + "
BITMAPS\"
// MsgAlert( c_path[3], "
Sub-dir Bitmaps  1. Image path" )

c_path[4] := c_path[3] + "
ALPHABMP\"
// MsgAlert( c_path[4], "
Sub-dir Bitmaps\ALPHABMP  2. Image path" )

c_path[5] := c_path[3] + "
PNGS\"
// MsgAlert( c_path[5], "
Sub-dir Bitmaps\PNGS  3. Image path" )

lChDir( c_path[1] )  
// MsgAlert( GETCURDIR() + "
\", "back to Application-path" )

// SetDlgGradient( { { 1, RGB( 103, 120, 203 ), RGB( 153, 170, 253 ) } } )

DEFINE FONT oFontLarge NAME "
Segoe UI Light" SIZE 0, -60 BOLD
DEFINE FONT oFontMed   NAME "
Segoe UI Light" SIZE 0, -30 BOLD
DEFINE FONT oFontUL    NAME "
Segoe UI Light" SIZE 0, -30 UNDERLINE
DEFINE FONT oFontSmall NAME "
Segoe UI Light" SIZE 0, -20 BOLD

DEFINE IMAGE oImgTouch FILENAME c_path[4] + "
handnew.bmp"
DEFINE IMAGE oImgEnd FILENAME c_path[5] + "
end.png"

DEFINE WINDOW oWnd STYLE nOr( WS_POPUP, WS_VISIBLE ) ;
COLOR CLR_BLACK, CLR_BLUE
...
...


Image

Best Regards
Uwe :?:
Since 1995 ( the first release of FW 1.9 )
i work with FW.
If you have any questions about special functions, maybe i can help.
User avatar
ukoenig
 
Posts: 4043
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:40 pm
Location: Germany

Re: metro buttons

Postby Richard Chidiak » Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:17 pm

Thanks Uwe

I finally got it working

I don't really know what happened, related to a test project (uestudio), i have done another project and it is working now.

Thanks for help anyway (as usual)

regards,
http://www.cbati.com

Uestudio
Fwh 13.05 Harbour 3.2 MSVC 2013
User avatar
Richard Chidiak
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: France

Re: metro buttons (solved)

Postby Rick Lipkin » Fri Apr 12, 2013 3:53 pm

Richard

Just curious about your reaction.. I looked at the WinRt ( metro ) interface and I liked it however, in keeping with the Metro ( tiled main menu) Window style, there is no frame to minimize or 'x' to close the application, nor is there a task bar visible without having to hit the Windows key.

Image

In a ( windows ) business setting ( my humble opinion ) I think it is quite rude for an application to take up and 'hog' the screen especially if you have several applications open. Another thing that bothers me is if you click anywhere on the screen the application will close.

As far as using the Metro opening ( tiled ) menu interface ( as is ) .. it is not very pc friendly and would have to be modified to be used in a Business class environment.

In defense of many of our FiveWin friends, I will say that you can still use many aspects of the Metro style for other data entry screens .. like browses and sliders - on off switches .. otherwise using the tiled beginning menu interface does not lend itself to be used as the main menu for a pc application.

Rick Lipkin
User avatar
Rick Lipkin
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:50 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina USA

Re: metro buttons (solved)

Postby Richard Chidiak » Fri Apr 12, 2013 4:32 pm

Rick

You are right, i have noticed the same odd behaviour from windows 8 interface

Though we are targetting a tablet pc in replacement of our pocket pc software and because there is a big demand from our customers. As business is low.... we try to go where the demand is.

I have an Ipad 3 and an android Samsung tablet , and to be honest i don't like them both for the programming part. I like the idea of windows 8 tablet more friendly to program and easier for communication (in our business world).

This is why i am exploring this interface and as you said we can combine both worlds (sliders metro btn and normal windows).

My son and other people at the company have done some work in java with Eclipse and sql , it is an alternative but communication with our main software (fwh) gets complex and so far not giving satisafaction.

I think we need to share experience , Otto has issued the process with a beautiful application (congrats), more has to come from other fivewinners. Antonio needs surelyy our feedback to improve this interface. Right now , Otto is alone (i may be wrong) , hopefully i will join shortly.

Best regards,
http://www.cbati.com

Uestudio
Fwh 13.05 Harbour 3.2 MSVC 2013
User avatar
Richard Chidiak
 
Posts: 946
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 7:05 pm
Location: France

Re: metro buttons (solved)

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:32 pm

Rick,

Another thing that bothers me is if you click anywhere on the screen the application will close


We implemented that behavior just for testing purposes, but we can easily remove it and I agree it is an absurd behavior :-)

As Richard comments, we need the feedback from other FiveWinners to evolve this way if there is a new market opportunity for all of us.

Recently I enjoyed testing GitHub for Windows as they have implemented a similar solution like we have done. Otto you may enjoy reviewing this app and may give us good ideas:

http://windows.github.com/

These are screenshots from the DESKTOP app. It is not a Win8 WinRT neither a web app:

Image
Image
Image
Image
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41323
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: metro buttons (solved)

Postby Rick Lipkin » Fri Apr 12, 2013 5:56 pm

Antonio

I like your example of GitHub for Windows.. very Elegant!!

Rick Lipkin
User avatar
Rick Lipkin
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:50 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina USA

Re: metro buttons (solved)

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Apr 13, 2013 10:36 am

Rick,

Yes, I agree, thats why it catched my attention :-)

Anyhow I think it is not very standard. Otto whats your opinion about it ? :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41323
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: metro buttons (solved)

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Apr 13, 2013 11:05 am

I have been trying to find github.exe and it seems as it is not a desktop app, in fact I am not sure about what it is :-)

See this:
http://github-windows.s3.amazonaws.com/GitHub.application#GitHub.application, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=317444273a93ac29, processorArchitecture=x86


what is this ? :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41323
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain


Re: metro buttons (solved)

Postby ukoenig » Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:58 pm

Maybe some useful infos ?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GitHub

Download ( A green Download-button on upper right corner ) :

http://windows.github.com/

The welcome-screen after install

Image

Best Regards
Uwe :lol:
Since 1995 ( the first release of FW 1.9 )
i work with FW.
If you have any questions about special functions, maybe i can help.
User avatar
ukoenig
 
Posts: 4043
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:40 pm
Location: Germany


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests