Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby TimStone » Tue Jun 03, 2014 8:18 pm

Many of my clients still have computers with 32 bit OS. So I want to keep my "build" confined to 32bit for now.

I have a successful build system using Visual Studio 2012 and UE Studio. I will be using the same files as the source for my VS 2013 Pro builds ( or attempted build ).

So here is my question. Though the samples show a list of .lib files, am I correct to believe that I should specify all of the files I currently use for a successful UES build ?

Also, Do I need to specify the VS libs that were included in the UES build, or will Visual Studio pick them up ?

I'm sure more questions will come along soon, but for now I have a lot of files to import and configure. Ultimately, I agree it would be worth it.

Thanks.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:06 am

Tim,

Not sure what you mean exactly, but if you mean that you are going to migrate from VS2012 to VS2013 all you have to change is this:

1. Let Visual Studio initialize its own settings:

if exist "%ProgramFiles%\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\VC\vcvarsall.bat" call "%ProgramFiles%\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\VC\vcvarsall.bat" x86_amd64
if exist "%ProgramFiles(x86)%\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\VC\vcvarsall.bat" call "%ProgramFiles(x86)%\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\VC\vcvarsall.bat" x86_amd64

2. In the make file, just change these two lines:

VCDIR="c:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0\VC"
SDKDIR="c:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\8.1"

thats all :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41314
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby ORibeiro » Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:13 am

Tim,

You can generate a 32-bit application with "VS +FWH + ​​xHarbour"? How do I do that?

Thanks,
Oscar Ribeiro
OASyS Informática
Fwh18.02 + xHarbour 1.2.3 + Bcc72
User avatar
ORibeiro
 
Posts: 187
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:33 pm
Location: Itu, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby TimStone » Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:37 pm

Antonio,

Currently I have a build using UltraEdit Studio, FWH, Harbour, and the files from VC++ 2012. The UEStudio make file works perfectly, and in it, I have the proper lib files called out.

Now, I am setting aside UE Studio, and building the program in Visual Studio 2013 Professional, just like you are doing with the 64 bit, except I am using 32 bit files. I am following your steps outlined elsewhere to start a project, and add the .prg files. I am adding all the .prg files that I used successfully in the UEStudio and VC 2012 build. I modify the properties for each and they are compiling with harbor to .c files as they should.

You also indicated we need to add the .lib files, and I understand how to do that. I used the same .lib files from my UE Studio build ( special, harbor, and fwh .libs ).

My question is this. In UE Studio, I needed to specify the Visual Studio libs also. Do I need to add those in the Visual Studio project, or will VS find them on its own ?

Thanks.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:42 pm

Tim,

Visual Studio will find them. Here you can see the libs that you just need to link:
viewtopic.php?p=144626#p144626

and here is the topic where it is explained how to build FWH apps from Visual Studio IDE:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=26298&start=0
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41314
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby TimStone » Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:53 pm

Antonio,

I have more Harbour libs and some externals. I think I have that under control.

I have a lot of .prg files and of course each one needs to have the properties set, so that takes a long time. I decided to see what would happen if I did a Build. Of course, each .prg compiles fine with Harbour into a .c file.

When VS 2013 tries to compile the .c programs, it gives the following error:

1>c:\users\timsaio\documents\visual studio 2013\projects\mls2015\mls2015\pro3900.c : fatal error C1853: 'Debug\MLS2015.pch' precompiled header file is from a previous version of the compiler, or the precompiled header is C++ and you are using it from C (or vice versa)
pro3800.c

What is the "precompiled header file" to which this is referring ? I did not add any. I'm using the latest libs from FWH, but my Harbour files are older. They were a set you sent me dated 4/4/13. However, I don't think those apply since it was not trying to link libraries.

Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby Antonio Linares » Thu Jun 05, 2014 6:05 am

Tim,

It comes from here: (please uncheck this from your project)
Image
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41314
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby TimStone » Thu Jun 05, 2014 2:39 pm

Where is that screen ? I can't seem to find it.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:05 am

Tim,

That screen appears the first time you create a project, but don't worry if you missed it as you can change that setting from the project properties too:

Change it to avoid the use of precompiled headers, that simple :-)

Image
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41314
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby TimStone » Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:29 am

Sorry...I should have posted that I found the setting earlier. No have about 30 more files to setup and them nit will be time to link.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri Jun 06, 2014 6:47 am

Tim,

No doubt that you could find it. You are a great master, more and more, and I feel so fine about that, because I still remember sometimes that I told you (remember it?) to use VB (like a zen master would have told you, to make you understand) but you choosed the right tools and you have been brave enough to use Visual Studio, to decide your own tools and I feel proud of having masters like you in these forums :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41314
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby TimStone » Fri Jun 06, 2014 7:27 pm

1) I didn't see it in the threads, so where do I place the .rc file and the associated .bmps and icons ?

2) The following externals are missing:

Code: Select all  Expand view
Error   44  error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp__AlphaBlend@44 referenced in function _HB_FUN_ABPAINT   C:\Users\TimsAIO\documents\visual studio 2013\Projects\MLS2015\MLS2015\FiveHC32.lib(BRUSHES.obj)    MLS2015
Error   45  error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp__ImageList_AddMasked@12 referenced in function _HB_FUN_ILADDMASKED  C:\Users\TimsAIO\documents\visual studio 2013\Projects\MLS2015\MLS2015\FiveHC32.lib(IMAGELIS.obj)   MLS2015
Error   46  error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp__InitCommonControls@0 referenced in function _HB_FUN_INITCOMMONCONTROLS C:\Users\TimsAIO\documents\visual studio 2013\Projects\MLS2015\MLS2015\FiveHC32.lib(TOOLBARS.obj)   MLS2015
Error   47  error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp__InitCommonControlsEx@4 referenced in function _HB_FUN_INITCOMMONCONTROLSEX C:\Users\TimsAIO\documents\visual studio 2013\Projects\MLS2015\MLS2015\FiveHC32.lib(TOOLBARS.obj)   MLS2015
Error   48  error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol __imp__InitCommonControlsEx@4 C:\Users\TimsAIO\documents\visual studio 2013\Projects\MLS2015\MLS2015\FiveHC32.lib(DATEPICK.obj)   MLS2015
Error   49  error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _GetFileVersionInfoSizeA@8 referenced in function _HB_FUN_REDLLVERSION    C:\Users\TimsAIO\documents\visual studio 2013\Projects\MLS2015\MLS2015\FiveHC32.lib(RICHEDIT.obj)   MLS2015
Error   50  error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _GetFileVersionInfoA@16 referenced in function _HB_FUN_REDLLVERSION   C:\Users\TimsAIO\documents\visual studio 2013\Projects\MLS2015\MLS2015\FiveHC32.lib(RICHEDIT.obj)   MLS2015
Error   51  error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _VerQueryValueA@16 referenced in function _HB_FUN_REDLLVERSION    C:\Users\TimsAIO\documents\visual studio 2013\Projects\MLS2015\MLS2015\FiveHC32.lib(RICHEDIT.obj)   MLS2015
Error   52  error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _OleUIPasteSpecialA@4 referenced in function _HB_FUN_REPASTESPECIAL   C:\Users\TimsAIO\documents\visual studio 2013\Projects\MLS2015\MLS2015\FiveHC32.lib(RICHEDIT.obj)   MLS2015
 


3) Where is mslmg32.lib ? It's on your list but I can't seem to find it to add to the project.

Thanks.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:22 pm

Tim,

3. You have a typo in the library name: Its correct name is msimg32.lib
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41314
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:23 pm

2. You have to link OleDlg.lib too from Microsoft
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41314
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Visual Studio 2013 & 32 bit builds

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:24 pm

and version.lib
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41314
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Next

Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 36 guests