Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

User avatar
RAMESHBABU
Posts: 633
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:54 am
Location: Secunderabad (T.S), India
Been thanked: 6 times

Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by RAMESHBABU »

Dear Mr.Antonio,

I was testing Unicode support from our FiveWin. All seems to be working ok
to the extent of Unicode implemented sofar upto FWH_1509.

But one thing i noticed is that the text from Dialogs in R.C are not being
converted.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=31392

Image
free image host

My I request you to look into this when you find time.

Regards,

-Ramesh Babu P
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42742
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by Antonio Linares »

Dear Ramesh,

Could you please test it again doing oDlg:lTransparent := .T. before the ACTIVATE DIALOG ?

Please post the resulting screenshot here.

Many thanks
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42742
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by Antonio Linares »

Ramesh,

Are those dialogs from a RC file ?

If so, could you please post here the RC file or send it to my email ?

thanks
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
richard-service
Posts: 810
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:57 am
Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan
Has thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by richard-service »

Antonio Linares wrote:Ramesh,

Are those dialogs from a RC file ?

If so, could you please post here the RC file or send it to my email ?

thanks


Antonio,

I make this sample, PRG and RC that I convert to UTF-8 style.

http://www.fivetech.com.tw/downloads/TestChinese-u8-V3.rar

Code: Select all | Expand


// Add this to your resources RC file

#ifdef __FLAT__
   1 24 "./WinXP/WindowsXP.Manifest"
#endif

new      BITMAP "./bitmaps/32x32/new.bmp"
quit     BITMAP "./bitmaps/32x32/quit.bmp"

TEST DIALOG 20, 41, 356, 86
STYLE DS_MODALFRAME | WS_POPUP | WS_VISIBLE | WS_CAPTION | WS_SYSMENU
CAPTION "測試  Unicode 繁體中文(Traditional Chinese)-例如堃,叙"
FONT 12, "細明體"
{
 EDITTEXT 201, 68, 7, 170, 12
 EDITTEXT 202, 68, 22, 99, 12
 CONTROL "存檔", 301, "BUTTON", BS_USERBUTTON | WS_TABSTOP, 302, 8, 46, 18
 CONTROL "取消", 302, "BUTTON", BS_USERBUTTON | WS_TABSTOP, 302, 29, 46, 18
 CONTROL "列印", 303, "BUTTON", BS_USERBUTTON | WS_TABSTOP, 302, 50, 46, 18
 LTEXT "中文地址", 101, 5, 7, 60, 12
 LTEXT "中文姓名", 102, 5, 22, 60, 12
}
 
Best Regards,

Richard

Harbour 3.2.0dev (r2402101027) => Borland C++ v7.7 32bit
MySQL v8.0 /ADS v10
Harbour 3.2.0dev (r2011030937) => Borland C++ v7.4 64bit
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42742
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by Antonio Linares »

It seems as we have to use cgrc.exe for resources with unicode:

http://blog.spreendigital.de/2008/10/14/unicode-in-resource-files/
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
cnavarro
Posts: 6610
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:25 pm
Location: España
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by cnavarro »

Look

Image
Cristobal Navarro
Hay dos tipos de personas: las que te hacen perder el tiempo y las que te hacen perder la noción del tiempo
El secreto de la felicidad no está en hacer lo que te gusta, sino en que te guste lo que haces
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42742
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by Antonio Linares »

Dear Cristobal,

Please explain the changes in buildh.bat, many thanks! :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
cnavarro
Posts: 6610
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:25 pm
Location: España
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 8 times

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by cnavarro »

Antonio

I've sent an email
Cristobal Navarro
Hay dos tipos de personas: las que te hacen perder el tiempo y las que te hacen perder la noción del tiempo
El secreto de la felicidad no está en hacer lo que te gusta, sino en que te guste lo que haces
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42742
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by Antonio Linares »

Ok, as explained by Cristobal to me, Windows does not support UTF8. Only Unicode.

So you have to open the RC file with notepad.exe and save it with Unicode format.

Cristobal, thanks for the finding :-)

And don't forget to add this at the beginning of your PRG:

FW_SetUnicode( .T. )
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42742
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by Antonio Linares »

And it seems as brc32.exe can not be used, instead we have to use cgrc.exe from Embarcadero.

In buildh.bat this change is needed:

Instead of:

IF EXIST %1.rc %bcdir%\bin\brc32.exe -r -I%bcdir%\include -I%bcdir%\include\windows\sdk %1

We must use:

IF EXIST %1.rc %bcdir%\bin\cgrc.exe -r -m -I%bcdir%\include -I%bcdir%\include\windows\sdk %1
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42742
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 110 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by Antonio Linares »

As Embarcadero does not allow the redistribution of these (free) tools, if you are interested

about using cgrc.exe please send me a gmail account if you want to receive the instructions about how to download the software

from Embarcadero and where this tool is located
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
RAMESHBABU
Posts: 633
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:54 am
Location: Secunderabad (T.S), India
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by RAMESHBABU »

Dear Mr.Antinio,

I am extremely happy for that I could
get the Unicode resource dialogs shown
properly with unicode characters, with
your great help.

cgrc.exe and saving the .rc file with in
unicode format has done the magic.

Image
windows 7 print screen

Thank you very much to you and Mr.Cristobal

Regards,

-Ramesh Babu P
User avatar
dutch
Posts: 1570
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 5:56 pm
Location: Thailand
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by dutch »

Dear Antonio,

I do interest too, thank you in advance.
dutchez4 @ gmail.com
Antonio Linares wrote:As Embarcadero does not allow the redistribution of these (free) tools, if you are interested

about using cgrc.exe please send me a gmail account if you want to receive the instructions about how to download the software

from Embarcadero and where this tool is located
Regards,
Dutch

FWH 2304 / xHarbour Simplex 1.2.3 / BCC73 / Pelles C / UEStudio
FWPPC 10.02 / Harbour for PPC (FTDN)
ADS V.9 / MySql / MariaDB
R&R 12 Infinity / Crystal Report XI R2
(Thailand)
User avatar
richard-service
Posts: 810
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:57 am
Location: New Taipei City, Taiwan
Has thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by richard-service »

Dear Antonio,

1.Resource Dialog not work. I can't input Chinese word and number into TGet.
2.ToolTip display Garbled.
Image
Best Regards,

Richard

Harbour 3.2.0dev (r2402101027) => Borland C++ v7.7 32bit
MySQL v8.0 /ADS v10
Harbour 3.2.0dev (r2011030937) => Borland C++ v7.4 64bit
User avatar
RAMESHBABU
Posts: 633
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2005 5:54 am
Location: Secunderabad (T.S), India
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Unicode Support to Dialogs from Resources

Post by RAMESHBABU »

Hello Mr.Richard

The dialog what I have shown above is generated using your source only.

Plz. follow the instructions give by Mr.Antonio. I reiterate them once again
for you.

A) In the begenning of you main program, you have to write FW_SetUnicode(.T.)
B) You plase copy your .RC file contents into notepad and save it as "unicode" not "UTF-8"
C) Copy cgrc.exe into BCC7\BIN or BCC582\BIN
D) In Buildx.bat say :

Code: Select all | Expand


    rem IF EXIST %1.rc %bcdir%\bin\brc32 -r -I%bcdir%\include %1
    IF EXIST %1.rc %bcdir%\bin\cgrc -r -m -ipath%bcdir%\include %1
 

E) Just compile and link it. You will get the .EXE properly built and working with UNICODE support.

In case you need the .EXE generated from your own code you gave me, plz. write to my private mail.
I will send it to you.

Thats all

Regards,

-Ramesh Babu
Post Reply