Need help on xharbour and ADT table connection

Need help on xharbour and ADT table connection

Postby teddydjohan » Mon Sep 04, 2017 4:06 am

Can anyone help me on how to configure the xharbour for RDDADS?

I have looked at the doc created by Reinaldo on how to add RDDADS.lib etc but I am still lost. I am still new to this environment. Used to do coding on COBOL, Forte, and PHP.

Currently, I am using the following things:
    - XHarbour Binaries 1.2.3 Rev. 10204 for BCC 7.30
    - FiveWin 17.07
    - Borland C Compiler Ver 7
    - Advantage Database Ver. 8.1

I have a program that connects to ADT table. The first time I compile the program, it failed and I figured out it is because there is no 'ads.ch' in xharbour\include folder.
I downloaded the rddads package from Harbour GitHub contrib\rddads folder. Then I copy the 'ads.ch' file from that source into xharbour\include folder.

I have been searching the forum and found information posted by Reinaldo on how to build rddads.lib and ace32.lib but I have no success so far.

I have downloaded the ACE SDK for Ver 8.1 from Advantaget Dev Zone. So I have the ace32.dll and several dll files in my PC now.

I have built the ace32.lib filed successfully using this command:
implib.exe ace32.lib ace32.dll

and placed the ace32.lib file into xharbour\include folder.

When I try to compile again, it failed with this message:
Fatal: Unable to open file 'RDDADS.LIB'

Apparently, there is no 'RDDADS.LIB' in the xharbour\lib folder.

How do I get this rddads.lib file?

The other questions I have are:
There are ace32.dll, adsloc32.dll, adslocal.cfg, axcws32.dll files in the ACE SDK Redistribute folder. Do I need to place those files into specific folder in my PC? If so, where should I put them?

There are ads1.c, adsfunc.c, adsmgmnt.c, adsx.c, rddads.h, rddads.hbc, rddads.hbp, rddads.hbx files in Harbour GitHub contrib\rddads folder. Do I need those files? If so, where should I put them in my PC?

Teddy
teddydjohan