DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby karinha » Tue Aug 15, 2023 1:33 pm

nageswaragunupudi wrote:Mr. Karinha

Do you know where can we get the famous TExcel class?



I don't remember who sent me. See if it helps.

No recuerdo quién me envió. A ver si te ayuda.

UTILFIVE, download: take it easy, there are many folders about fivewin. Including TEXCEL.

https://mega.nz/file/5c8k0BLR#T7dwZBqIufsH_7fuzEmJjINtmWW-3FjiwxAAdtQFWmM

Texcel, download:

https://mega.nz/file/5c8k0BLR#T7dwZBqIufsH_7fuzEmJjINtmWW-3FjiwxAAdtQFWmM

Regards, saludos.
João Santos - São Paulo - Brasil - Phone: +55(11)95150-7341
User avatar
karinha
 
Posts: 7215
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:36 pm
Location: São Paulo - Brasil

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Tue Aug 15, 2023 3:52 pm

Mr. Karinha
Thanks
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10248
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Tue Aug 15, 2023 3:56 pm

sorry i´m still a Newbie and do not know what Fivewin already have or can do

No problem at all. We understand and we are here to assist you.
SecToTime() and TString() are (x)Harbour functions, not FWH.
I thought as profuse user of HMG, you might be aware of them.
Its ok, we are here to provide support in every way
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10248
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby karinha » Tue Aug 15, 2023 4:10 pm

nageswaragunupudi wrote:Mr. Karinha
Thanks


I located the source, who sent me the link, only GOD knows... hahahaha many thanks.

Localicé la fuente, quien me envió el link, solo DIOS lo sabe... jajajaja muchas gracias.

I ask for an example, they send me a "truck" hahahahaha

pido un ejemplo me mandan un "camión" jajajajajajajaja

https://app.box.com/s/lck9effuyn?page=1

Regards, saludos.
João Santos - São Paulo - Brasil - Phone: +55(11)95150-7341
User avatar
karinha
 
Posts: 7215
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:36 pm
Location: São Paulo - Brasil

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Tue Aug 15, 2023 5:49 pm

it is Quick & Dirty but it seems to work this Way

Excellent Mr. Jimmy.
Not dirty at all. This is very useful.
This creates ".XLSB" file, if not ".XLSX" file. That is quite good enough where Excel is not installed.
I did not know this before and this is a great learning for me and thank you.

Now.
For this quick test, you have used ACE.
We know ACE is to be installed by the user and is not installed by default.
So, I tried with Jet OLEDB. This created ".XLS" file. That is great too.

We can now try
Code: Select all  Expand view
TRY
   use ACE
CATCH
   TRY
      use Jet
   CATCH
       ? "FAIL"
   END
END


Now, even if Excel is not installed, we can create xlsb if ACE is installed or .xls otherwise.
This is very useful.

Now FWH has ExportToExcel functions and methods in XBrowse, RowSet class and direct functions.
All these functions/methods work only if Excel is installed.
We can now extend this export facility even if Excel is not installed.
We will work on this.

Again many thanks.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10248
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Tue Aug 15, 2023 8:19 pm

Modified FW_OpenADOExcelBook()
Now we can use this function with cTable, instead of using our own connection string.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10248
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Tue Aug 15, 2023 8:21 pm

FW_XLCreateTableSQL2

Can you please share with us what modifications did you make?
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10248
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby Jimmy » Wed Aug 16, 2023 5:13 am

hi,
nageswaragunupudi wrote:
FW_XLCreateTableSQL2

Can you please share with us what modifications did you make?

FW_XLCreateTableSQL2() is the same as FW_XLCreateTableSQL()
i just have rename it while i had test both Version which you have show us
greeting,
Jimmy
User avatar
Jimmy
 
Posts: 1586
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:32 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby Jimmy » Wed Aug 16, 2023 5:14 am

hi,
nageswaragunupudi wrote:Modified FW_OpenADOExcelBook()
Now we can use this function with cTable, instead of using our own connection string.

GREAT, thx
greeting,
Jimmy
User avatar
Jimmy
 
Posts: 1586
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:32 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby Jimmy » Wed Aug 16, 2023 5:22 am

about FW_ADOX_CreateExcelTable() :
i wonder that FW_ADOX_CreateExcelTable() crash at FIELD "MARRIED" which is not 1st or Last FIELD in DBF

FIELD "MARRIED" is Type "L", adBoolean but FUNCTION DateCheck() seems not to check for Type "L"
[ 1] = C MARRIED
[ 2] = N 11

in DBF i have .T. / .F. but under SQL it can be TRUE / FALSE or 1 / 0 ...

---

i have try to include ADOX again and it work so far ...

Code: Select all  Expand view
FUNCTION FW_ADOX_CreateExcelTable( oCn, cTable, aStruct )
LOCAL oCat   := CreateObject( "ADOX.Catalog" )
LOCAL oTable, aFld, n, cType
LOCAL oCol
LOCAL nType, nLen, i, iMax, cName

   oCat:ActiveConnection := oCn

   cTable := LOWER( cTable )
   oTable := CreateObject( "ADOX.Table" )
   oTable:Name := cTable

#ifdef Use_AEVAL                  // old CODE
   AEVAL( aStruct, < | aFld, i |
LOCAL nType := ;
           IF( aFld[ 2 ] == "C", adVarWChar, ;
           IF( aFld[ 2 ] $ "DT=@", adDate, ;
           IF( aFld[ 2 ] == "L", adBoolean, ;
           IF( aFld[ 2 ] $ "+N", adDouble, adLongVarWChar ) ) ) )

   oTable:Columns:Append( aFld[ 1 ], nType )

   IF i == 7
      oCat:Tables:Append( oTable )
      oTable := oCat:Tables( cTable )
   ENDIF

   RETURN nil
   > )

#else                              // new CODE

   iMax := LEN(aStruct)
   FOR i := 1 TO iMax
      oCol := CreateObject( "ADOX.Column" ) // need for every Column

      cName := aStruct[i][ 1 ]
      DO CASE
         CASE aStruct[i][ 2 ] == "C"
            nType := adVarWChar
         CASE aStruct[i][ 2 ] $ "DT=@"
            nType := adDate
         CASE aStruct[i][ 2 ] == "L"
            nType := adBoolean
         CASE aStruct[i][ 2 ] $ "+N"
            nType := adDouble
      ENDCASE
      nLen := aStruct[i][ 3 ]

fwlog i , cName, nType, nLen

      ocol:Name := cName
      ocol:Type := nType
      IF aStruct[i][ 2 ] == "C"
         ocol:DefinedSize := nLen
      ENDIF
      oTable:Columns:Append( ocol )

   NEXT

fwlog i , Var2char(oCat), Var2char(oTable), Var2char(oCat:Tables), Var2char(oTable:Columns)
*  IF i == 7
     oCat:Tables:Append( oTable )
     oTable := oCat:Tables( cTable )
*  ENDIF

#endif

RETURN nil

i can SET ocol:DefinedSize := nLen and oTable:Columns:Append( ocol ) but FWAdoStruct( oRs ) still give me 255 :cry:

---

i´m not sure what cDbms := FW_RDBMSName( oRs:ActiveConnection, .f. ) will give with Excel

i like to REQUEST to enhance function FWAdoFieldStruct() to use Value of
oField:DefinedSize

when use Excel and o:DefinedSize is valid
greeting,
Jimmy
User avatar
Jimmy
 
Posts: 1586
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:32 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Wed Aug 16, 2023 9:33 am

Code: Select all  Expand view
in DBF i have .T. / .F. but under SQL it can be TRUE / FALSE or 1 / 0 ...
 

Assigning .T. is working for me here.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10248
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Wed Aug 16, 2023 11:24 am

Whatever DefinedSize we specify while creating the table (via sql or adox), when the table is read using ADO, the field object is showing oField:DefinedSize as 255 only
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10248
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Wed Aug 16, 2023 12:20 pm

This is not true:

Code: Select all  Expand view
#include "Fivewin.ch"
#include "Ado.ch"


FUNCTION MAIN()

    LOCAL cMdb := "MyTest.mdb"

    LOCAL cCns := "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=" + cMdb

    LOCAL oCt, oCn, oRs

    oCt = CREATEOBJECT( "ADOX.Catalog" )

    FERASE( cMdb )

    oCt:Create( cCns )

    oCn = CREATEOBJECT( "ADODB.Connection" )

    oCn:Open( cCns )

    oCn:Execute( "CREATE TABLE Test ( Test VARCHAR ( 30 ) )" )

    oCn:Close()

    oRs = CREATEOBJECT( "ADODB.Recordset" )

    oRs:Open( "SELECT * FROM Test", cCns, adOpenForwardOnly, adLockOptimistic )

    oRs:AddNew()

    oRs:Update()

    ? oRs:Fields( "Test" ):DefinedSize

    oRs:Close()

    RETURN NIL
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8315
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby Jimmy » Wed Aug 16, 2023 1:39 pm

hi Enrico,

it is IMHO while "MSACCESS" is "known" but not "EXCEL" as Provider by Fivewin

that is why i ask to enhance FWAdoStruct() / FWAdoFieldStruct() / FW_RDBMSName() for
Code: Select all  Expand view
cDbms = "MS JET EXCEL 12.0"

and ACE Version

---

is it possible to "integrate" a Progressbar in MsgRun() when append Data :?:
greeting,
Jimmy
User avatar
Jimmy
 
Posts: 1586
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:32 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: DBF to Excel Sheet, without Excel, using ADO ?

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Wed Aug 16, 2023 8:19 pm

This is not true:

Yes, not true for MsAccess, MSSQL and ALL other RDBMS with ADO.
But true for Excel ADO recordset
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10248
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

PreviousNext

Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 79 guests