XBrowse Muliple Rows per record

XBrowse Muliple Rows per record

Postby James Bott » Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:22 am

I understand that XBrowse can display mutliple lines per record, but I can't figure out how to do it.

oBrw:nDataLines := 2

Has no effect, and I don't know why you would need that. It seems that the browse should figure that out itself by the data specification.

And I can't figure out the syntax for displaying the data using oCol:bStrData. I have tried CRLF, CR, LF, and arrays.

Can someone explain the syntax?

[I am using FWH 8.01/xHarbour]

James
User avatar
James Bott
 
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Postby James Bott » Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:57 am

Solved.

You have to also increase the row height. If you don't do that, the data appears with the CRLF symbols on the same row. So all three of these lines are required.

Code: Select all  Expand view
oCol:bStrData      := {|| trim( oCust:last) + ", " + oCust:first +CRLF+ oCust:street}

   oBrw:nDataLines := 2

   oBrw:nRowHeight := 30


This does not seem to be the best solution. It would be better if XBrowse figured out that if there were two lines of data in bStrData, then nDataLines should be set to 2, and nRowHeight should be adjusted. Actually, it should figure out the minum row height needed and use that unless nRowHeight has been specified and is greater than the minimum row height. That way we could still make the row height larger.

James
User avatar
James Bott
 
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Postby Robert Frank » Sat Feb 02, 2008 8:08 am

James
You can also use xBrowse to show multiple lines without using CR+LF in each line. xBrowse will do it automaticaly.

...
oBRWR:nRowHeight :=50
...
oCol:= oBRWR:AddCol()
oCol:bStrData := {|| BRWR_SPIS_BADAN() }
oCol:cHeader := "Zlecone badania"
oCol:nWidth:=200
...

Function BRWR_SPIS_BADAN()
Local xRESZTA:=''
Local XXX:=0
Local xRECNO:=RR->RECNO
Local warea:=Select()
Select(2)
If DbSeek(xRECNO)
Do While xRECNO=FF->RECNO .AND. .NOT. Eof()
XXX+=1
xRESZTA+=AllTrim(OemToAnsi(5->NAZWA_S))+' '
If XXX=5
// NOT NESSESARY to divide lines for xBROWSE
//xRESZTA+=sCRLF
XXX:=0
EndIf
DbSkip(1)
EndDo
Else
Select(warea)
xRESZTA:="nothing to show"
EndIf
Return xRESZTA
Robert Frank
User avatar
Robert Frank
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 4:43 am
Location: Gdynia-Poland

Postby James Bott » Sat Feb 02, 2008 8:48 am

Robert,

From your code it looks like you are just building one long string. Does XBrowse just word-wrap at spaces?

James
User avatar
James Bott
 
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Postby Robert Frank » Sat Feb 02, 2008 10:16 am

James Bott wrote:Robert,

From your code it looks like you are just building one long string. Does XBrowse just word-wrap at spaces?

James


Exactly.
Remaind to keep oBrw:nRowHeight :=XXX up to your needs.
Robert Frank
User avatar
Robert Frank
 
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2007 4:43 am
Location: Gdynia-Poland


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests