Is FiveMac complete for production projects?

Is FiveMac complete for production projects?

Postby Roberto Parisi » Mon Aug 22, 2011 1:04 pm

As subject.

Thx,
Roberto Parisi
Roberto Parisi
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Is FiveMac complete for production projects?

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Oct 15, 2011 5:01 pm

Roberto,

It is not as complete and powerfull as FWH, but it provides enough functionality to develop a complete application :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 35350
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Is FiveMac complete for production projects?

Postby Dave Zowasky » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:06 pm

Antonio,

We have been getting requests form the OSX community to port
our products to the MAC. In looking at the issue I have a couple
of questions. First is can I buy an OSX CD from Apple and set things
up using Virtual Box, or will I need to buy a MAC?
My second question is, will my FWH dialog and menu code port to the Fivemac?

As always Thanks much
Dave Zowasky
Com1 Software, Inc.
http://www.com1software.com
information@com1software.com
330 653-3771
User avatar
Dave Zowasky
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: Hudson Ohio

Re: Is FiveMac complete for production projects?

Postby IBTC » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:16 pm

Dave Zowasky wrote:First is can I buy an OSX CD from Apple and set things
up using Virtual Box, or will I need to buy a MAC?


As I know the license of Apple says that it is only allowed to use Mac OS X on a Mac computer.
Best Regards,
Ruediger Alich

---
HMG 3.1.3 | FTDN/FWH 13.12 | Harbour 3.2 | BCC/MinGW | Windows XP/Vista/7/8/10 (32/64-Bit), Wine (Linux/Mac) - started 1999 with FW, 1989 with Clipper
User avatar
IBTC
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 8:13 pm
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

Re: Is FiveMac complete for production projects?

Postby Dave Zowasky » Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:20 pm

Ruediger,

Thanks, that is is impression I have been getting.
Dave Zowasky
Com1 Software, Inc.
http://www.com1software.com
information@com1software.com
330 653-3771
User avatar
Dave Zowasky
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: Hudson Ohio

Re: Is FiveMac complete for production projects?

Postby Antonio Linares » Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:45 pm

Dave,

We do all our developments from Macs since more than 4 years ago :-)

You can natively run OSX, Windows and Linux on them. Really great computers :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 35350
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Is FiveMac complete for production projects?

Postby Dave Zowasky » Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:19 pm

Antonio,

I appreciate the feedback. :) It sounds like porting my application from fwh should be pretty easy.
Alot like when we ported our products to 64 bit. In looking at the Mac it seems like a nice machine
I started looking at the mini, and I may be taking a ride to the store soon.

Another question I have is I am guessing all the harbour tip libraries will work? The reason I am asking
is because we like to get demos of our products out and using ftp and http to communicate with our serveres helps
us control abuse as well as allowing the product to be fully functional. In a second part to my question we also
count on the volser() fuction. I have not checked it lately in linux but last time I checked it, maybe a year ago now,
it was not working. Being linux is linux it would seem understandable the oversite. Not knowing much on the
Mac, does the volser() work in FiveMac?

Thanks
Dave Zowasky
Com1 Software, Inc.
http://www.com1software.com
information@com1software.com
330 653-3771
User avatar
Dave Zowasky
 
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: Hudson Ohio


Return to FiveMac / FivePhone (iPhone, iPad)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest