Problem in creating GETs

Problem in creating GETs

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:10 pm

In the sample below, you can note the visual difference between GETs created in different ways. Any ideas on how to make the second GET looking like the first?

Code: Select all  Expand view
#include "Fivewin.ch"


FUNCTION MAIN()

    LOCAL oDlg

    LOCAL cVar1 := SPACE( 30 )
    LOCAL cVar2 := SPACE( 30 )

    DEFINE DIALOG oDlg;
           SIZE 800, 600

    @ 1, 1 GET cVar1 SIZE 200, 20

    @ 7, 1 BUTTON "Test";
           ACTION TEST( @cVar2 )

    ACTIVATE DIALOG oDlg;
             CENTER

    RETURN NIL


STATIC FUNCTION TEST( cVar )

    @ 7, 1 GET cVar SIZE 200, 30

    RETURN NIL


EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8400
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Problem in creating GETs

Postby Rick Lipkin » Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:13 pm

Enrico

I confirm your observation .. the first get has a sunk border and the second get has a nice clean edge on Xp ( did not test on any other operating system )

Just to see what would happen, I added the xp manifest and the opposite appearance occurred .. the first get had a smooth edge and the second get has the sunk border.

I did review the .ppo and the two Tget lines are identical... :?

Rick Lipkin
User avatar
Rick Lipkin
 
Posts: 2642
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:50 pm
Location: Columbia, South Carolina USA

Re: Problem in creating GETs

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:19 pm

Rick,

Rick Lipkin wrote:Enrico

I confirm your observation


Thanks. Antonio?

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8400
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Problem in creating GETs

Postby James Bott » Thu Aug 15, 2013 1:58 pm

I also confirm the behavior. And even when the two GETs are defined with the same dimensions, they are not same size. I suspect that one is using dialog units and the other is using window units.

James
User avatar
James Bott
 
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Problem in creating GETs

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Thu Aug 15, 2013 3:19 pm

James,

James Bott wrote:I also confirm the behavior. And even when the two GETs are defined with the same dimensions, they are not same size. I suspect that one is using dialog units and the other is using window units.

James


Yes, this is normal. The problem I'd want mainly pointing out was the visual difference between the two GETs. Any workaround?

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8400
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Problem in creating GETs

Postby James Bott » Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:49 pm

Encrico,

Yes, this is normal. The problem I'd want mainly pointing out was the visual difference between the two GETs. Any workaround?


Yes, it may be normal, but it is not desirable. I was just suggesting that both things should (or could) be fixed at the same time.

As we have determined, this is a partly a theme issue. It may be that both the appearance and the size are related to the theme issue.

I don't know of a workaround. I think Antonio will have to address this.

James
User avatar
James Bott
 
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA

Re: Problem in creating GETs

Postby Biel EA6DD » Thu Nov 28, 2013 4:44 pm

Any news.
I have same effect when I build gets from ON INIT of dialog.
Saludos desde Mallorca
Biel Maimó
http://bielsys.blogspot.com/
User avatar
Biel EA6DD
 
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:48 am
Location: Mallorca


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Otto and 140 guests