Page 1 of 1

Problem in creating GETs

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 10:10 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
In the sample below, you can note the visual difference between GETs created in different ways. Any ideas on how to make the second GET looking like the first?

Code: Select all  Expand view
#include "Fivewin.ch"


FUNCTION MAIN()

    LOCAL oDlg

    LOCAL cVar1 := SPACE( 30 )
    LOCAL cVar2 := SPACE( 30 )

    DEFINE DIALOG oDlg;
           SIZE 800, 600

    @ 1, 1 GET cVar1 SIZE 200, 20

    @ 7, 1 BUTTON "Test";
           ACTION TEST( @cVar2 )

    ACTIVATE DIALOG oDlg;
             CENTER

    RETURN NIL


STATIC FUNCTION TEST( cVar )

    @ 7, 1 GET cVar SIZE 200, 30

    RETURN NIL


EMG

Re: Problem in creating GETs

PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:13 pm
by Rick Lipkin
Enrico

I confirm your observation .. the first get has a sunk border and the second get has a nice clean edge on Xp ( did not test on any other operating system )

Just to see what would happen, I added the xp manifest and the opposite appearance occurred .. the first get had a smooth edge and the second get has the sunk border.

I did review the .ppo and the two Tget lines are identical... :?

Rick Lipkin

Re: Problem in creating GETs

PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:19 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
Rick,

Rick Lipkin wrote:Enrico

I confirm your observation


Thanks. Antonio?

EMG

Re: Problem in creating GETs

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 1:58 pm
by James Bott
I also confirm the behavior. And even when the two GETs are defined with the same dimensions, they are not same size. I suspect that one is using dialog units and the other is using window units.

James

Re: Problem in creating GETs

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 3:19 pm
by Enrico Maria Giordano
James,

James Bott wrote:I also confirm the behavior. And even when the two GETs are defined with the same dimensions, they are not same size. I suspect that one is using dialog units and the other is using window units.

James


Yes, this is normal. The problem I'd want mainly pointing out was the visual difference between the two GETs. Any workaround?

EMG

Re: Problem in creating GETs

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:49 pm
by James Bott
Encrico,

Yes, this is normal. The problem I'd want mainly pointing out was the visual difference between the two GETs. Any workaround?


Yes, it may be normal, but it is not desirable. I was just suggesting that both things should (or could) be fixed at the same time.

As we have determined, this is a partly a theme issue. It may be that both the appearance and the size are related to the theme issue.

I don't know of a workaround. I think Antonio will have to address this.

James

Re: Problem in creating GETs

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 4:44 pm
by Biel EA6DD
Any news.
I have same effect when I build gets from ON INIT of dialog.