A bug in a disable get

A bug in a disable get

Postby yury » Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:07 pm

Hi everyone

This code below have a 3 gets, all enabled in first moment

The first get have a valid calling a function and this one show a
message, set the variable lWhen2 with .F. (disabling the second
get) and returns .T.

But the cursor dont focus in the third get, it´s back to the first

please, try the code below and check if the problems realy exist

Code: Select all  Expand view  RUN
#include "FiveWin.ch"


FUNCTION Test()


nCpo = 0
nCp2 = 15
cCp3 = SPACE(20)


lWhen1 = .T.
lWhen2 = .T.
lWhen3 = .T.


define dialog oDlg from 01,01 TO 25,50


@ 01,01 say 'I have a valid:' of oDlg
@ 01,10 get oCpo var nCpo pict '9999' of oDlg when lWhen1 valid xFunc()


@ 02,01 say 'I am enable for while:' of oDlg
@ 02,10 get oCp2 var nCp2 pict '99' of oDlg when lWhen2


@ 03,01 say 'I am enable forever:' of oDlg
@ 03,10 get oCp3 var cCp3 pict '@!' of oDlg when lWhen3


activate dialog oDlg center


RETURN




FUNCTION xFunc()


MSGINFO('Testing...')


lWhen2=.F.
oDlg:Aevalwhen()
SysRefresh()


RETURN .t.


regards and many thanks
Yury Marcelino Al
yury030575@yahoo.com.br
vimansca@vimansca.com.br
Leme / SP - Brasil
yury
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 2:01 pm

Postby demont frank » Sat Aug 02, 2008 6:05 am

Maybe tyhe 'msginfo' is disturbing the fosus set by the dialog.

Have you tried with tracelog ?

Frank
demont frank
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:24 am

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Sat Aug 02, 2008 7:48 am

The above program works correctly as expected without MsgInfo(). Even with MsgInfo(), it works second time onwards.

But why should it not work when there is MsgInfo() ? I think this is the main quetion raised by Yuri. It is not unusual to have some messages to the user in the valid clauses.
Last edited by nageswaragunupudi on Sat Aug 02, 2008 7:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10646
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Aug 02, 2008 7:49 am

Yuri,

This code is properly working here:
Code: Select all  Expand view  RUN
#include "FiveWin.ch"


function Main()

   local nCpo := 0, nCp2 := 15, cCp3 := SPACE(20)
   local lWhen1 := .T., lWhen2 := .T., lWhen3 := .T.


   define dialog oDlg from 01,01 TO 25,50


   @ 01,01 say 'I have a valid:' of oDlg
   @ 01,10 get oCpo var nCpo pict '9999' of oDlg when lWhen1 valid ( lWhen2 := .F., .T. )


   @ 02,01 say 'I am enable for while:' of oDlg
   @ 02,10 get oCp2 var nCp2 pict '99' of oDlg when lWhen2


   @ 03,01 say 'I am enable forever:' of oDlg
   @ 03,10 get oCp3 var cCp3 pict '@!' of oDlg when lWhen3


   activate dialog oDlg center


RETURN nil
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42111
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby nageswaragunupudi » Sat Aug 02, 2008 7:54 am

Mr Antonio

The problem is when the valid is changed to include a msginfo. The problem is when the above code is written as :

.... valid ( msginfo( 'something' ), lWhen2 := .f., .t. )
Regards

G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
User avatar
nageswaragunupudi
 
Posts: 10646
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
Location: India

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Aug 02, 2008 10:06 am

Yes, right, because the focus sequence can not be interrupted.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42111
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby yury » Mon Aug 04, 2008 11:53 am

Mr. Antonio and Mr.NageswaraRao, thanks for your suport !

The problem happens with any dialog open in a valid function, in exemple above I used a msginfo for a test, but if were a dialog (define dialog...) happen the same error...

If no exists dialog or message in the valid function it's works fine, disabling the second get and focus in the third...

it would be possible to correct the get/control class for avoid this error ?
Yury Marcelino Al
yury030575@yahoo.com.br
vimansca@vimansca.com.br
Leme / SP - Brasil
yury
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 2:01 pm

Postby yury » Mon Aug 04, 2008 1:15 pm

Hi everyone,

With a setfocus in the valid function directing the cursor for the third get it's works, but I think that it's not correct, because should be a natural behavior of FWH when the next control is a get and it's enable...

for now I solved this way, but I think that should be receive the proper treatment in the FWH classes...

regards

Code: Select all  Expand view  RUN
#include "FiveWin.ch"


FUNCTION Test()


nCpo = 0
nCp2 = 15
cCp3 = SPACE(20)


lWhen1 = .T.
lWhen2 = .T.
lWhen3 = .T.


define dialog oDlg from 01,01 TO 25,50


@ 01,01 say 'I have a valid:' of oDlg
@ 01,10 get oCpo var nCpo pict '9999' of oDlg when lWhen1 valid xFunc()


@ 02,01 say 'I am enable for while:' of oDlg
@ 02,10 get oCp2 var nCp2 pict '99' of oDlg when lWhen2


@ 03,01 say 'I am enable forever:' of oDlg
@ 03,10 get oCp3 var cCp3 pict '@!' of oDlg when lWhen3


activate dialog oDlg center


RETURN




FUNCTION xFunc()


MSGINFO('Testing...')


lWhen2=.F.
oDlg:Aevalwhen()
SysRefresh()

oCp3:SetFocus()  ==> HERE

RETURN .t.
Yury Marcelino Al
yury030575@yahoo.com.br
vimansca@vimansca.com.br
Leme / SP - Brasil
yury
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 2:01 pm

Postby Antonio Linares » Mon Aug 04, 2008 1:27 pm

Yuri,

Your solution is fine, because there is no way to know where the focus should go once you open a dialogbox on top of the controls.

Windows API uses GetNextDlgTabItem() on a standard change focus sequence:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms645495(VS.85).aspx

but if such sequence is altered, then its the programmer responsability to decide where the focus should go.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42111
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby yury » Mon Aug 04, 2008 2:39 pm

Yuri,

Your solution is fine, because there is no way to know where the focus should go once you open a dialogbox on top of the controls.

Windows API uses GetNextDlgTabItem() on a standard change focus sequence:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms645495(VS.85).aspx

but if such sequence is altered, then its the programmer responsability to decide where the focus should go.


thanks Mr.Antonio, you are right, I understand your explanation...

regards
Yury Marcelino Al
yury030575@yahoo.com.br
vimansca@vimansca.com.br
Leme / SP - Brasil
yury
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 2:01 pm

Postby hua » Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:05 am

I find it cleaner and neater to code it this way:
Code: Select all  Expand view  RUN
@ 01,10 get oCpo var nCpo pict '9999' of oDlg when lWhen1 valid xFunc(oDlg, oCpo)
    .
    .
FUNCTION xFunc(oDlg, oGet)


MSGINFO('Testing...')


lWhen2=.F.
oDlg:Aevalwhen()
SysRefresh()

oDlg:GoNextCtrl(oGet:hWnd)

RETURN .t.


That way, if in the future I add new Gets, the jumping of the focus will follow the tab order that I specified within Resource Workshop. I won't have to remember to recode the setFocus part. Of course all of my screens were developed using Resource Workshop, not using the @..,.. syntax.

Just my 2 cents
hua
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 2:27 am

Postby Antonio Linares » Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:48 am

Hua,

Thanks for your suggestion, anyhow keep in mind that there is no way to know in advance where the programmer wants to send the focus to, if he shows a dialogbox where the user may select or fill something.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42111
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 59 guests