FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42393
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 9 times
- Been thanked: 41 times
- Contact:
FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
We know that it is a tedious task to write help for an app, so we have implemented a real simple way to do it using FWH:
SetAutoHelp( lOnOff, lEditable ) // lEditable is .T. by default
just call that function at the beginning of your app, and press F1 on any control of your FWH app, you will be prompted to write the help for it, using richedit text and the next time you press F1 the help will be shown! FWH automatically creates a help.dbf with index and updates it properly.
To test it using FiveDBU, just go to the DBF builder or any other dialog, place the focus on any control and press F1
Here you can download the EXE (FiveDBU) using AutoHelp to test it:
https://github.com/FiveTechSoft/FWH_too ... tohelp.zip
SetAutoHelp( lOnOff, lEditable ) // lEditable is .T. by default
just call that function at the beginning of your app, and press F1 on any control of your FWH app, you will be prompted to write the help for it, using richedit text and the next time you press F1 the help will be shown! FWH automatically creates a help.dbf with index and updates it properly.
To test it using FiveDBU, just go to the DBF builder or any other dialog, place the focus on any control and press F1
Here you can download the EXE (FiveDBU) using AutoHelp to test it:
https://github.com/FiveTechSoft/FWH_too ... tohelp.zip
- Marc Venken
- Posts: 1482
- Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:51 am
- Location: Belgium
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
Testing.
Wen can create a help text. ex. COPY button (ok)
When you go to a other control (ODBC) it will sometimes show the txt from COPY.
But when you click ODBC, see the menu and return, when you click then, the correct help is shown.
Could it be that the ID is not always correct ?
Wen can create a help text. ex. COPY button (ok)
When you go to a other control (ODBC) it will sometimes show the txt from COPY.
But when you click ODBC, see the menu and return, when you click then, the correct help is shown.
Could it be that the ID is not always correct ?
Marc Venken
Using: FWH 23.08 with Harbour
Using: FWH 23.08 with Harbour
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42393
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 9 times
- Been thanked: 41 times
- Contact:
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
Dear Marc,
It is failing for source code created controls as the controls IDs change. It works fine for resource created controls.
The control must have the focus in order to work fine
We are thinking for a solution
It is failing for source code created controls as the controls IDs change. It works fine for resource created controls.
The control must have the focus in order to work fine
We are thinking for a solution
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42393
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 9 times
- Been thanked: 41 times
- Contact:
- Marc Venken
- Posts: 1482
- Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:51 am
- Location: Belgium
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
I see no different behavior, but i'm a source code control user.
The system is for now for resources ?
The system is for now for resources ?
Marc Venken
Using: FWH 23.08 with Harbour
Using: FWH 23.08 with Harbour
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42393
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 9 times
- Been thanked: 41 times
- Contact:
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
Dear Marc,
FWH AutoHelp already works fine with source code created controls, this is what we have fixed.
start FiveDBU, go to the DBF Builder, focus will go to the first control, press F1, write something, save it
then exit from DBF Builder, go back to it and press F1 again...
Now do it for the second control of DBF Builder, etc...
FWH AutoHelp already works fine with source code created controls, this is what we have fixed.
start FiveDBU, go to the DBF Builder, focus will go to the first control, press F1, write something, save it
then exit from DBF Builder, go back to it and press F1 again...
Now do it for the second control of DBF Builder, etc...
- Marc Venken
- Posts: 1482
- Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:51 am
- Location: Belgium
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
aha... that's for the builder to test ))) I was testing with the buttons on the main menu.
For controls, you mean the gets, not the buttons ?
I was thinking of the tooltip. Many controls have a tooltip and show data based on it. What if the tooltip contains a help code
tooltip = "Just testing a idea [ID]"
the [ID] could become a ID from the dialog+control if possible.
For showing the tooltip itself first it should remove the [ID]. The [ID] then can look for a item in the helpfile en show it.
I don't know if a unique ID can be build from
ID of window
ID of DIALOG
ID of control
For controls, you mean the gets, not the buttons ?
I was thinking of the tooltip. Many controls have a tooltip and show data based on it. What if the tooltip contains a help code
tooltip = "Just testing a idea [ID]"
the [ID] could become a ID from the dialog+control if possible.
For showing the tooltip itself first it should remove the [ID]. The [ID] then can look for a item in the helpfile en show it.
I don't know if a unique ID can be build from
ID of window
ID of DIALOG
ID of control
Marc Venken
Using: FWH 23.08 with Harbour
Using: FWH 23.08 with Harbour
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42393
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 9 times
- Been thanked: 41 times
- Contact:
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
Dear Marc,
> For controls, you mean the gets, not the buttons ?
Any control
> I was thinking of the tooltip. Many controls have a tooltip and show data based on it. What if the tooltip contains a help code
All the FWH windows, dialogs and controls already have a DATA nId
We are already using the title of the window or dialog, plus the control order in its parent window or dialog:
> For controls, you mean the gets, not the buttons ?
Any control
> I was thinking of the tooltip. Many controls have a tooltip and show data based on it. What if the tooltip contains a help code
All the FWH windows, dialogs and controls already have a DATA nId
We are already using the title of the window or dialog, plus the control order in its parent window or dialog:
Code: Select all | Expand
function GetDlgCtrlOrder( hCtrl )
local hWndParent := GetParent( hCtrl )
local nOrder := 0, nResult := 0
EnumChildWindows( hWndParent, { | hWnd | nOrder++, If( hWnd == hCtrl, nResult := nOrder, ) } )
return nResult
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
Hola Antonio,
Te comento que es lo que hice yo, al menos la idea.
Algo parecido a lo que has desarrollado pero con la particularidad de que tiene 2 redactados de ayuda.
El de la aplicación (que entiendo que es lo que has desarrollado), y el del usuario, para que el mismo pueda anotar 'cosas' al respecto de ese dato que debe informar, es decir escribir su propia ayuda.
Eso lo tengo puesto en una MDI con 2 controles Richedit, uno no editable y el otro si.
Es solo una sugerencia.
Muchas gracias,
Te comento que es lo que hice yo, al menos la idea.
Algo parecido a lo que has desarrollado pero con la particularidad de que tiene 2 redactados de ayuda.
El de la aplicación (que entiendo que es lo que has desarrollado), y el del usuario, para que el mismo pueda anotar 'cosas' al respecto de ese dato que debe informar, es decir escribir su propia ayuda.
Eso lo tengo puesto en una MDI con 2 controles Richedit, uno no editable y el otro si.
Es solo una sugerencia.
Muchas gracias,
Un Saludo
Carlos G.
FiveWin 24.02 + Harbour 3.2.0dev (r2403071241), BCC 7.7 Windows 10
Carlos G.
FiveWin 24.02 + Harbour 3.2.0dev (r2403071241), BCC 7.7 Windows 10
- Otto
- Posts: 6396
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:07 pm
- Has thanked: 8 times
- Been thanked: 1 time
- Contact:
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
Dear Antonio,
Thank you very much. I think that's a great feature.
Is the source code already in the update?
I'll try using the Tinymce HTML Editor for writing.
Best regards,
Otto
Thank you very much. I think that's a great feature.
Is the source code already in the update?
I'll try using the Tinymce HTML Editor for writing.
Best regards,
Otto
********************************************************************
mod harbour - Vamos a la conquista de la Web
modharbour.org
https://www.facebook.com/groups/modharbour.club
********************************************************************
mod harbour - Vamos a la conquista de la Web
modharbour.org
https://www.facebook.com/groups/modharbour.club
********************************************************************
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42393
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 9 times
- Been thanked: 41 times
- Contact:
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
Dear Otto,
It will be included in FWH build, probably by end of July
Estimado Carlos,
Vamos a comenzar con un diseño sencillo y simple y luego en base al feedback que recibamos lo iremos mejorando y ampliando
It will be included in FWH build, probably by end of July
Estimado Carlos,
Vamos a comenzar con un diseño sencillo y simple y luego en base al feedback que recibamos lo iremos mejorando y ampliando
- Marc Venken
- Posts: 1482
- Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:51 am
- Location: Belgium
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
FIVEWIDI +1
A second screen, based on a flag ( lDebughelp ) would indeed be helpfull. Now I have to write it down into the source what i still need TODO. Then it will be on each controle/dialog. Nice feature.
But OK, First things first !! we will see .....
A second screen, based on a flag ( lDebughelp ) would indeed be helpfull. Now I have to write it down into the source what i still need TODO. Then it will be on each controle/dialog. Nice feature.
But OK, First things first !! we will see .....
Marc Venken
Using: FWH 23.08 with Harbour
Using: FWH 23.08 with Harbour
- Marc Venken
- Posts: 1482
- Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:51 am
- Location: Belgium
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
I'm looking for a other way of help.
When I hover over a button, folderex, xbrowse,... we can see that the hover is changing a color background or showing a tooltip etc..
At that moment, is there a option to get the value or ID from that items i'm hovering over ? Mayby in combination with a Dialog ID so that there is a Unique ID to retrieve from the help dbf ?
I want to show help text before they click on a item. Almost like the tooltip does, but then with the F1 key.
Some of you a able of making a extension on a class, so mayby the tooltip can have one like "TooltipF1" and show the tooltip of the hovered item with F1.
In my case it is not needed that F1 is used. Any key is ok.
I hope I make some sence )))
When I hover over a button, folderex, xbrowse,... we can see that the hover is changing a color background or showing a tooltip etc..
At that moment, is there a option to get the value or ID from that items i'm hovering over ? Mayby in combination with a Dialog ID so that there is a Unique ID to retrieve from the help dbf ?
I want to show help text before they click on a item. Almost like the tooltip does, but then with the F1 key.
Some of you a able of making a extension on a class, so mayby the tooltip can have one like "TooltipF1" and show the tooltip of the hovered item with F1.
In my case it is not needed that F1 is used. Any key is ok.
I hope I make some sence )))
Marc Venken
Using: FWH 23.08 with Harbour
Using: FWH 23.08 with Harbour
- carlos vargas
- Posts: 1721
- Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 5:01 pm
- Location: Nicaragua
Re: FWH new AutoHelp feature !!!
Antonio, pienso que un help por window o dialog sería más eficiente en lugar de cada control, asi solo le agregamos in id a la ventana o dialogo para que muestre la ayuda.
bueno es una opinion...
salu2
carlos vargas
bueno es una opinion...
salu2
carlos vargas
Salu2
Carlos Vargas
Desde Managua, Nicaragua (CA)
Carlos Vargas
Desde Managua, Nicaragua (CA)
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42393
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 9 times
- Been thanked: 41 times
- Contact: