Prototype missing?

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Antonio Linares » Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:05 am

The reason to introduce it is a very technical one:

Clipper never distinguished between constant and non constant strings. And it was a big missing, as a constant string can never be overwritten because that will generate a GPF. Harbour perfectly distinguishes between those different types of strings :-)

Thats why I tell you that Harbour is so good: its technical level is much higher and complete than the one implemented originally by Clipper.

Thats why Harbour is the real Clipper successor :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41903
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:09 am

Antonio Linares wrote:The reason to introduce it is a very technical one:

Clipper never distinguished between constant and non constant strings. And it was a big missing, as a constant string can never be overwritten because that will generate a GPF. Harbour perfectly distinguishes between those different types of strings :-)

Thats why I tell you that Harbour is so good: its technical level is much higher and complete than the one implemented originally by Clipper.

Thats why Harbour is the real Clipper successor :-)


Yes, I know. But still I can't use a tool driven by a group of developers that I don't like.

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8570
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Antonio Linares » Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:22 am

I fully understand what you mean... :-)

Anyhow, we are technicians, and that means that many times we have to make desitions based on technical facts instead of based on personal preferences.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41903
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Sun Oct 02, 2011 12:56 pm

Yes, and the technical facts are that Harbour developers broke the compatibility too many times in the past for ununderstandable reasons. And we need of a stable product.

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8570
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Antonio Linares » Sun Oct 02, 2011 2:15 pm

Enrico,

yes, I agree with you. There is always a price to pay... :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41903
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain


Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:34 pm

Antonio Linares wrote:The reason to introduce it is a very technical one:

Clipper never distinguished between constant and non constant strings. And it was a big missing, as a constant string can never be overwritten because that will generate a GPF. Harbour perfectly distinguishes between those different types of strings :-)

Thats why I tell you that Harbour is so good: its technical level is much higher and complete than the one implemented originally by Clipper.

Thats why Harbour is the real Clipper successor :-)


This is the xHarbour's prototype of hb_parc():

Code: Select all  Expand view
const char * hb_parc( int iParam, ... )


So it seems to return a const char *, just like hb_parvc() is supposed to do.

What am I missing?

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8570
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:35 pm

And what about this?

Anyway, it won't solve all the problems. As an example, I still see CLIPPER FUNCNAME( PARAMS ) in some places.


EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8570
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Antonio Linares » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:50 pm

Enrico Maria Giordano wrote:And what about this?

Anyway, it won't solve all the problems. As an example, I still see CLIPPER FUNCNAME( PARAMS ) in some places.


EMG


Enrico,

That is kept for Clipper backwards compatibility only. We should use HB_FUNC( FUNCNAME ) instead.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41903
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Mon Oct 03, 2011 7:51 pm

So we can change all the remaining CLIPPER FUNCNAME( PARAMS )?

Did you see the other message of mine?

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8570
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Oct 04, 2011 6:26 am

Enrico,

Yes, we should use HB_FUNC( ... ) only

I have compared the code of hb_parc() and hb_parvc() and it seems as they are the same except that hb_parc() does not accept the optional parameters. So the argument for constant and non constant seems useless... :-S
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41903
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:03 am

So, can we use hb_parc() instead of hb_parvc()? It's currently used in only 6 sources.

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8570
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:49 pm

Enrico,

Only in those calls where it uses just one parameter
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41903
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Tue Oct 04, 2011 4:07 pm

Why? Anyway, all the calls uses two parameters.

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8570
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Prototype missing?

Postby Antonio Linares » Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:03 pm

Because harbour's hb_parc() just accepts one parameter
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41903
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

PreviousNext

Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 28 guests