Copy & Paste
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Copy & Paste
I have had a problem surface in the past two months. I'm wondering if others have experienced this.
If I highlight a string of several words, and select copy, then paste it into a Memo field, the entire string will be entered. Thus, we know Copy is working correctly.
If I try to paste into a GET field, only part of the data will be pasted. Usually this is about the first 10 characters.
This used to work just fine, but started this behavior in recent versions.
Any ideas ?
Tim
If I highlight a string of several words, and select copy, then paste it into a Memo field, the entire string will be entered. Thus, we know Copy is working correctly.
If I try to paste into a GET field, only part of the data will be pasted. Usually this is about the first 10 characters.
This used to work just fine, but started this behavior in recent versions.
Any ideas ?
Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
-
- Posts: 824
- Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 7:39 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Copy & Paste
Tim,
a similar problem was described here
http://forums.fivetechsupport.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=22627&start=15
If you paste in a get, the get variable must be at least of the same length as the pasted string, otherwise characters are dropped.
a similar problem was described here
http://forums.fivetechsupport.com/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=22627&start=15
If you paste in a get, the get variable must be at least of the same length as the pasted string, otherwise characters are dropped.
kind regards
Stefan
Stefan
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Copy & Paste
I read that thread. I do have Send32.lib linked in with my xHarbour version, but the problem exists in my MSVC version also.
Here are specifics:
I take the phrase: SILICONE SEALANT and copy it to the clipboard ( FWH ).
I then try to paste it into a GET field that is 30 spaces long. It only pastes SILICONE
I now go to a memo field, and it pastes the full string.
The problem exists in both the xHb ( .com ) builds ( Pelles C ), and in the MSVC versions.
It may have something to do with the size of the field. This string is 16 characters long plus two spaces. In the 30 character field, it only posts 8 characters. In a much larger field it may paste more characters. It seems like the paste is a percentage of the field length not the full available space.
Tim
Here are specifics:
I take the phrase: SILICONE SEALANT and copy it to the clipboard ( FWH ).
I then try to paste it into a GET field that is 30 spaces long. It only pastes SILICONE
I now go to a memo field, and it pastes the full string.
The problem exists in both the xHb ( .com ) builds ( Pelles C ), and in the MSVC versions.
It may have something to do with the size of the field. This string is 16 characters long plus two spaces. In the 30 character field, it only posts 8 characters. In a much larger field it may paste more characters. It seems like the paste is a percentage of the field length not the full available space.
Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42516
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 31 times
- Been thanked: 75 times
- Contact:
Re: Copy & Paste
Tim,
This example is working fine here using Harbour and bcc582:
This example is working fine here using Harbour and bcc582:
Code: Select all | Expand
#include "FiveWin.ch"
function Main()
local oDlg, cText := Space( 30 )
DEFINE DIALOG oDlg
@ 2, 2 GET cText OF oDlg
ACTIVATE DIALOG oDlg CENTERED
return nil
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Copy & Paste
Antonio,
I'm using Dialogs built with an .rc, and xHB(.com) or MSVC. There is no difference.
Also, this is a change from older behavior. It used to work perfectly. I know because my clients were cutting and pasting every day in their businesses.
Here is an example:
REDEFINE GET oAcr:cliad2 ID 551 OF oDlar UPDATE // cliad2 is a 25 character field
CONTROL "", 551, "Edit", WS_BORDER|WS_TABSTOP, 52, 70, 104, 13 // From the RC
The text string "Five Tech Software" is 18 characters long, less than the 25 character field
The program pastes only : "Five Tec"
This is occurring on the Harbour / MSVC version ( for testing ), just like it does on the xHb version.
Tim
I'm using Dialogs built with an .rc, and xHB(.com) or MSVC. There is no difference.
Also, this is a change from older behavior. It used to work perfectly. I know because my clients were cutting and pasting every day in their businesses.
Here is an example:
REDEFINE GET oAcr:cliad2 ID 551 OF oDlar UPDATE // cliad2 is a 25 character field
CONTROL "", 551, "Edit", WS_BORDER|WS_TABSTOP, 52, 70, 104, 13 // From the RC
The text string "Five Tech Software" is 18 characters long, less than the 25 character field
The program pastes only : "Five Tec"
This is occurring on the Harbour / MSVC version ( for testing ), just like it does on the xHb version.
Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
- Enrico Maria Giordano
- Posts: 8753
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
- Location: Roma - Italia
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 4 times
- Contact:
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Copy & Paste
That seems to resolve it. That's a lot of GET's to replace ....
Tim
Tim
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
Re: Copy & Paste
I modified tget.prg to fix the problem rather than change all of the controls on all of the dialogs.
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42516
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 31 times
- Been thanked: 75 times
- Contact:
Re: Copy & Paste
Tim,
In source\classes\tget.prg Method Initiate() please add these lines:
In source\classes\tget.prg Method Initiate() please add these lines:
Code: Select all | Expand
...
if ::lPassword
SetWindowLong( ::hWnd, GWL_STYLE,;
nOr( GetWindowLong( ::hWnd, GWL_STYLE ), ES_PASSWORD ) )
endif
SetWindowLong( ::hWnd, GWL_STYLE,; // new
nOr( GetWindowLong( ::hWnd, GWL_STYLE ), ES_AUTOHSCROLL ) ) // new
...
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Copy & Paste
Thank you.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit