Builds on Mac Parallels with Visual Studio

Builds on Mac Parallels with Visual Studio

Postby TimStone » Tue Oct 31, 2017 6:57 pm

I realize this is a very specific situation but perhaps someone else has the answer.

I have built my application using FWH 17.xx, Harbour, and Visual Studio Community 2017. I use the following bat file to set the variables and call the nmake program.

Code: Select all  Expand view
@set oldpath=%path%
@set oldinclude=%include%
@set oldlib=%lib%
@set oldlibpath=%libpath%

if exist "%ProgramFiles%\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\VC\Auxiliary\Build\vcvarsall.bat" call "%ProgramFiles%\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\VC\Auxiliary\Build\vcvarsall.bat" x86
if exist "%ProgramFiles(x86)%\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\VC\Auxiliary\Build\vcvarsall.bat" call "%ProgramFiles(x86)%\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\VC\Auxiliary\Build\vcvarsall.bat" x86
cd c:\projects\mls2015\source\
c:\"Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio"\2017\Community\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.11.25503\bin\HostX86\x86\nmake -fASW32.mak

@set path=%oldpath%
@set include=%oldinclude%
@set lib=%oldlib%
@set libpath=%oldlibpath%
@set oldpath=""
@set oldinclude=""
@set oldlib=
@set oldlibpath=
 


On the windows machine, I had not updated the call to vcvarsall.bat and it was still pointing to the 2015 files. It has been corrected here. The reason for the cd command was that after running the .bat it ended up in another directory.

What is interesting is when I build the app in Visual Studio IDE, it all works fine. However, something in the vcvarsall.bat that is called must be creating a path problem. It errors out saying it doesn't know how to make the file (asw32.mak ).

So if anyone else is using an Apple Mac with Parallels and this type of build, and has overcome this problem ( or perhaps the same problem arose on a Windows machine with 2017 ), your assistance is greatly appreciated.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Builds on Mac Parallels with Visual Studio

Postby cnavarro » Tue Oct 31, 2017 8:10 pm

I've seen on two different computers that Visual Studio 2017 is sometimes installed in the folder %ProgramFiles% and sometimes in the folder %ProgramFiles(x86)%

Please copy this line to clipboard and paste in console window and execute
call "%ProgramFiles%\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\VC\Auxiliary\Build\vcvarsall.bat" x86


If this command is executed successfully, then this line is incorrect

c:\"Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio"\2017\Community\VC\Tools\MSVC\14.11.25503\bin\HostX86\x86\nmake -fASW32.mak
Cristobal Navarro
Hay dos tipos de personas: las que te hacen perder el tiempo y las que te hacen perder la noción del tiempo
El secreto de la felicidad no está en hacer lo que te gusta, sino en que te guste lo que haces
User avatar
cnavarro
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:25 pm
Location: España

Re: Builds on Mac Parallels with Visual Studio

Postby TimStone » Tue Oct 31, 2017 8:49 pm

Even though it is 64 bit visual studio, it gets installed in <x86>

HOWEVER, I did take out the first IF exists line ( the file did not exist in that location so it should have been skipped ), and now all is running and building fine.
Thank you.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Builds on Mac Parallels with Visual Studio

Postby cnavarro » Tue Oct 31, 2017 9:09 pm

Not always
Image
Cristobal Navarro
Hay dos tipos de personas: las que te hacen perder el tiempo y las que te hacen perder la noción del tiempo
El secreto de la felicidad no está en hacer lo que te gusta, sino en que te guste lo que haces
User avatar
cnavarro
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:25 pm
Location: España

Re: Builds on Mac Parallels with Visual Studio

Postby TimStone » Tue Oct 31, 2017 9:38 pm

Interesting ... maybe I missed a prompt. It's in and working ... so I will leave it alone.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Builds on Mac Parallels with Visual Studio

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Nov 01, 2017 9:33 am

Tim,

Why don't you use Bootcamp ?

I have been using it for years
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41858
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Builds on Mac Parallels with Visual Studio

Postby TimStone » Wed Nov 01, 2017 3:02 pm

Antonio Linares wrote:Tim,

Why don't you use Bootcamp ?

I have been using it for years


Because I want to use Windows and Mac programs at the same time. I can do this using Coherence Mode and it works well. To be honest, I was using multiple devices, and this allows me to condense them ... since the iMac allows me to have iMessage and my phone connected through the computer. That is why I want to run these things in iOS w/ Parallels.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2927
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Builds on Mac Parallels with Visual Studio

Postby Antonio Linares » Thu Nov 02, 2017 7:28 am

very good reason :-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 41858
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 53 guests