Menu with several windows

Post Reply
User avatar
plantenkennis
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 7:13 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Menu with several windows

Post by plantenkennis »

In my main window I have a menu that is visible at the top of my screen. When I create another window in my program I can set a menu for this window, which replaced the first menu. But when I close the second window, how do I get my first menu visible again.
Kind regards,

René Koot
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
Posts: 42730
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain
Has thanked: 95 times
Been thanked: 108 times
Contact:

Re: Menu with several windows

Post by Antonio Linares »

René,

You save each menu in a variable, like oMenu1, oMenu2, etc. then you do:

oMenuX:Activate()
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
plantenkennis
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 7:13 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Menu with several windows

Post by plantenkennis »

Hello Antonio,

This simple command does the trick. Thanks
Kind regards,

René Koot
User avatar
plantenkennis
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 7:13 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Menu with several windows

Post by plantenkennis »

Hello Antonio,

I was playing around with the menu again, but can't get it to work. I can set a new menu with a new window or diolog, but nothing happens when I click on a menuitem. I have created a little sample.

Code: Select all | Expand

#include "FiveMac.ch"static oWnd//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//function Main()    BuildMenu()    DEFINE WINDOW oWnd TITLE "Hello world"    ACTIVATE WINDOW oWnd ;      VALID MsgYesNo( "Want to end ?" ) return nil//----------------------------------------------------------------------------// function BuildMenu()    local oMenu    MENU oMenu      MENUITEM "Files"      && in menu this gives 'testmenu'      MENU         MENUITEM "New..."         MENUITEM "Open..." ACTION New_Window()         SEPARATOR         MENUITEM "Exit..." ACTION oWnd:End()      ENDMENU            MENUITEM "Help"      MENU         MENUITEM "Wiki..."         MENUITEM "About..." ACTION MsgAbout( "(C) FiveTech Software 2012", "FiveMac" )      ENDMENU   ENDMENU return oMenu//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//function New_Window()local oDlg, oMenuDlgDEFINE DIALOG oDlg    BuildMenuDlg()    ACTIVATE DIALOG oDlgreturn nil//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//function BuildMenuDlg()local oMenuDlg    MENU oMenuDlg        MENUITEM 'Dialog'        MENU            MENUITEM "help" ACTION MsgAbout( "Do we see this", "Test" )        ENDMENU        MENUITEM 'Test me'        MENU            MENUITEM "Click on me!" ACTION MsgInfo('show me')        ENDMENU    ENDMENU    return oMenuDlg 


Also the first MenuItem is always the name of the app, even if i write something different on that place.
Kind regards,

René Koot
User avatar
mastintin
Posts: 1516
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:06 pm

Re: Menu with several windows

Post by mastintin »

One solution ....

Code: Select all | Expand

#include "FiveMac.ch"static oWndstatic MenuParent//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//function Main()    BuildMenu()    DEFINE WINDOW oWnd TITLE "Hello world"    ACTIVATE WINDOW oWnd ;      VALID MsgYesNo( "Want to end ?" ) return nil//----------------------------------------------------------------------------// function BuildMenu()      MENU MenuParent      MENUITEM "Files"      && in menu this gives 'testmenu'      MENU         MENUITEM "New..."         MENUITEM "Open..." ACTION New_Window()         SEPARATOR         MENUITEM "Exit..." ACTION oWnd:End()      ENDMENU            MENUITEM "Help"      MENU         MENUITEM "Wiki..."         MENUITEM "About..." ACTION MsgAbout( "(C) FiveTech Software 2012", "FiveMac" )      ENDMENU   ENDMENU return MenuParent//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//function New_Window()local oDlg, oMenuDlgDEFINE DIALOG oDlg    BuildMenuDlg()    ACTIVATE DIALOG oDlg ;VALID ( MenuParent:activate(),.t. )return nil//----------------------------------------------------------------------------//function BuildMenuDlg()local oMenuDlg    MENU oMenuDlg        MENUITEM 'Dialog'        MENU            MENUITEM "help" ACTION MsgAbout( "Do we see this", "Test" )        ENDMENU        MENUITEM 'Test me'        MENU            MENUITEM "Click on me!" ACTION MsgInfo('show me')        ENDMENU    ENDMENU    return oMenuDlg 
User avatar
plantenkennis
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 25, 2015 7:13 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Menu with several windows

Post by plantenkennis »

Hello Mastintin,

Thank you for this sample, but it changes nothing to the problem I have. If you open the New window/dialog the oMenuDlg comes at the top, but nothing happens if you click one of the items (like 'help' or 'click on me'.
I think I will work with icons oon all my dialog windows to activate actions.
Kind regards,

René Koot
User avatar
mastintin
Posts: 1516
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 2:06 pm

Re: Menu with several windows

Post by mastintin »

I have reviewed the code of the menu class and made some changes so that you can switch between the menus you want only by activating them.
The Menus on Mac belong to the application and not to the windows, so it is up to the programmer to exchange them as needed.
You can also include images in them. :-)
Soon it will be ready ...
Regards
Post Reply