I am asking for your opinions, or thoughts, on what may be causing the following problem. I believe the issue is related to hardware, and do not believe it is related to the Browse class because it is only happening with one client, and it is on their newer computer which acts as a server. The computer has a current i7 Processor, with 16 GB of RAM. It was built by their computer tech, so I don't know about the motherboard.
Here is the problem. When browsing a file, using the down arrow, as the highlight bar move, it replaces the content of the row with the original one. So, with inventory, if the partnumber 123 is displayed, as the person scrolls down the list of other parts ( rows ), the partnumber and all corresponding data is filled with the 123 data.
If I then click on any row, the data in all the browse rows/fields refreshes properly.
I cannot replicate this problem on my computers ( the browse works perfectly while scrolling ), nor have any of my other clients seen it.
Here is my question: Does anyone have ideas on what might cause such a problem ? It is best to focus on hardware because it is specific to this one computer. I appreciate any opinions or suggestions as I try to assist my client with this unique problem.
Thank you.
Opinions wanted: Browse Refresh Issue
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Opinions wanted: Browse Refresh Issue
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
- Otto
- Posts: 6404
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 7:07 pm
- Has thanked: 24 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Opinions wanted: Browse Refresh Issue
Tim, search for SMB in this forum. I am quite certain that it is the mix of OS and SMB setup.
Best regards,
Otto
Best regards,
Otto
********************************************************************
mod harbour - Vamos a la conquista de la Web
modharbour.org
https://www.facebook.com/groups/modharbour.club
********************************************************************
mod harbour - Vamos a la conquista de la Web
modharbour.org
https://www.facebook.com/groups/modharbour.club
********************************************************************
- Antonio Linares
- Site Admin
- Posts: 42529
- Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
- Location: Spain
- Has thanked: 31 times
- Been thanked: 77 times
- Contact:
Re: Opinions wanted: Browse Refresh Issue
Dear Tim,
Please try this:
oBrw:bKeyDown := { | nKey | If( nKey == VK_DOWN, oBrw:Refresh(),) }
it looks to me more an issue with the display driver. Does Windows run fast on painting on other apps ?
Please try this:
oBrw:bKeyDown := { | nKey | If( nKey == VK_DOWN, oBrw:Refresh(),) }
it looks to me more an issue with the display driver. Does Windows run fast on painting on other apps ?
- nageswaragunupudi
- Posts: 10721
- Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 5:22 am
- Location: India
- Been thanked: 8 times
- Contact:
Re: Opinions wanted: Browse Refresh Issue
Here is the problem. When browsing a file, using the down arrow, as the highlight bar move, it replaces the content of the row with the original one. So, with inventory, if the partnumber 123 is displayed, as the person scrolls down the list of other parts ( rows ), the partnumber and all corresponding data is filled with the 123 data.
If I then click on any row, the data in all the browse rows/fields refreshes properly.
It should not happen.
But for whatever it is worth, I will again test the class intensively.
Is it working perfectly on your computer?
May I know your FWH version? Are you browsing DBF or TData?
Regards
G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
G. N. Rao.
Hyderabad, India
- TimStone
- Posts: 2955
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
- Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
- Has thanked: 25 times
- Been thanked: 2 times
- Contact:
Re: Opinions wanted: Browse Refresh Issue
Otto, Antonio and Nages,
As I said in the beginning post, I do not think this is an xBtrowse issue. On my computers it works perfectly. Also, many clients use the same program, and it works fine.
I am using the latest FWH build with Visual Studio 2019 ( for the distribution copy ).
It is also not a networking problem because I am using ADS, but the problem exists on the server itself ( where ADS is running ). Again, I can test on my computer with ADS active and I do NOT see any problem.
The problem started for this shop when they had an IT person build them a new server ( running Windows 10 ). Since it happens on that machine, I expect it happens on the workstations also since the delay is at the server itself. They are still running Windows 10 PRO.
To me, it seems like a refresh or cache issue with the computer. However, I asked here because I thought someone else might have seen a similar issue.
Thanks ...
As I said in the beginning post, I do not think this is an xBtrowse issue. On my computers it works perfectly. Also, many clients use the same program, and it works fine.
I am using the latest FWH build with Visual Studio 2019 ( for the distribution copy ).
It is also not a networking problem because I am using ADS, but the problem exists on the server itself ( where ADS is running ). Again, I can test on my computer with ADS active and I do NOT see any problem.
The problem started for this shop when they had an IT person build them a new server ( running Windows 10 ). Since it happens on that machine, I expect it happens on the workstations also since the delay is at the server itself. They are still running Windows 10 PRO.
To me, it seems like a refresh or cache issue with the computer. However, I asked here because I thought someone else might have seen a similar issue.
Thanks ...
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit