If I build samples\win32.exe, the avi plays fine under XP but does nothing under Vista.
What's the trick to get it working?
Thanks!
avi fails under Vista
- Rick Lipkin
- Posts: 2668
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:50 pm
- Location: Columbia, South Carolina USA
Re: avi fails under Vista
Hi Brian ..
Long time .. no see .. Here is my working code for our splash Agency avi .. works with all versions of Windows even Windows 7rc
Rick Lipkin
SC Dept of Health, USA
Long time .. no see .. Here is my working code for our splash Agency avi .. works with all versions of Windows even Windows 7rc
Rick Lipkin
SC Dept of Health, USA
Code: Select all | Expand
// playavi.prg
#INCLUDE "FIVEWIN.CH"
//----------------------
Function _Playavi( cDEFA )
LOCAL oDLG, oAVI
IF .not. FILE( cDEFA+"\DHEC.AVI" )
RETURN(NIL)
ENDIF
DEFINE DIALOG oDLG FROM 0,1 to 24,80 ;
COLOR "N/N,N/N,N/N,N/N,N/N" ;
TITLE "PCAS Data Entry" ;
STYLE nOr( WS_THICKFRAME, WS_POPUP )
@ 1,9.5 VIDEO oAVI FILE ( cDEFA+"\DHEC.AVI" ) of oDLG SIZE 158,100 NOBORDER
ACTIVATE DIALOG oDLG CENTERED ;
ON INIT ( oAVI:PLAY(), AviTimer( oDLG, 2.5) )
oDLG:END()
oAVI:END()
oDLG := NIL
oAVI := NIL
SysReFresh()
RETURN(NIL)
//-------------------
Static Func AviTimer(oDLG, nSECONDS )
LOCAL oTMR
DEFINE TIMER oTMR OF oDLG INTERVAL nSECONDS * 1000 ;
ACTION ( oDLG:END() )
ACTIVATE TIMER oTMR
RETURN(NIL)
// end playavi.prg
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 7:56 am
Re: avi fails under Vista
Hey, Rick! Great to hear from you.
Thanks for the code. This issue came up because we had an old
routine with a dialog that used the standard "Copy Files" system
avi (at least I'm pretty sure it's an avi). It turns out it just opens
Shell32.dll to play the standard animations in the TAnimate control.
I haven't played with video yet, but we do have some training videos
we wanted to start showing internally, so I'll definitely be using your
code soon for disk file videos.
But for the moment, we need to get the dialog animations going
under Vista. Any ideas? Or should I get those avi's as discrete files
and play them with the VIDEO command instead?
Thanks!
Thanks for the code. This issue came up because we had an old
routine with a dialog that used the standard "Copy Files" system
avi (at least I'm pretty sure it's an avi). It turns out it just opens
Shell32.dll to play the standard animations in the TAnimate control.
I haven't played with video yet, but we do have some training videos
we wanted to start showing internally, so I'll definitely be using your
code soon for disk file videos.
But for the moment, we need to get the dialog animations going
under Vista. Any ideas? Or should I get those avi's as discrete files
and play them with the VIDEO command instead?
Thanks!
-BH
- Rick Lipkin
- Posts: 2668
- Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:50 pm
- Location: Columbia, South Carolina USA
Re: avi fails under Vista
Brian
Here is one of the \samples .. looks like this is what you need ..
Rick
Here is one of the \samples .. looks like this is what you need ..
Rick
Code: Select all | Expand
// Using system AVIs
#include "FiveWin.ch"
function Main()
local oDlg, oAvi
DEFINE DIALOG oDlg TITLE "Copying files..."
@ 1, 1 VIDEO oAvi FILE "..\avis\download.avi" SIZE 134, 30 NOBORDER
ACTIVATE DIALOG oDlg CENTERED ;
ON INIT oAvi:Play()
return nil
-
- Posts: 20
- Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 7:56 am