Debugging

Debugging

Postby driessen » Sat Aug 18, 2007 9:38 am

Hello,

I'm using FWH and xHarbour. I'm building my application with xHarbour Building. All versions from December 2006. It all works fine.

But I've read here so much about debugging.

Can someone tell me exactly how I do implement the debugger in my appliction ? What do I need to do ?

Thanks a lot in advance.
Regards,

Michel D.
Genk (Belgium)
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
I use : FiveWin for (x)Harbour v. 24.07 - Harbour 3.2.0 (February 2024) - xHarbour Builder (January 2020) - Bcc773
User avatar
driessen
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:26 am
Location: Genk, Belgium

Postby Antonio Linares » Sat Aug 18, 2007 10:30 am

Michel,

You have to compile using /b and link debug.lib and GTWIN.lib instead of GTGUI.lib.

Please review samples\AltD.prg for a working sample.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42078
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby driessen » Sat Aug 18, 2007 2:22 pm

Antonio,

I tried to follow your instructions, unfortunately with no luck.

This is what I did :

Image

What did I do wrong ?

Thanks.
Regards,

Michel D.
Genk (Belgium)
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
I use : FiveWin for (x)Harbour v. 24.07 - Harbour 3.2.0 (February 2024) - xHarbour Builder (January 2020) - Bcc773
User avatar
driessen
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:26 am
Location: Genk, Belgium

Postby Gale FORd » Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:45 pm

Do not add debug.lib to your project.
Make sure the .prg file you want to debug has been recompiled with the debug option checked or you can check the option "Force Clean Build" on options screen 1.

Then at the command prompt (Dos Window) type

xdebugw myapp.exe

You have to type the full name of your program along with the .exe.

You can also include ALTD(2) somewhere in your program, maybe close to the beginnig.
Gale FORd
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 11:22 pm
Location: Houston

Postby driessen » Sun Aug 19, 2007 12:11 am

Gale,

Thanks a lot for your reaction.

I tried to follow your instructrions.

This results into the screen which is shown here :

Image

Except for the fact that I am asked to choose the starting PRG-file, nothing happens.

For a few seconds, this is shown in the console at the bottom :

Connecting to 127.0.0.1:10000...


Pushing on "Start" or "Step" doesn't result into any reaction.

What do I need to do now ?

Thanks a lot in advance.
Regards,

Michel D.
Genk (Belgium)
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
I use : FiveWin for (x)Harbour v. 24.07 - Harbour 3.2.0 (February 2024) - xHarbour Builder (January 2020) - Bcc773
User avatar
driessen
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:26 am
Location: Genk, Belgium


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests