Version Info

Post Reply
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2963
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Version Info

Post by TimStone »

At one point this was working. Now it is not. I see there were some posts on updates. What was the final verdict.

I have this code in my .rc file. It no longer shows the results in properties.

Code: Select all | Expand

VS_VERSION_INFO VERSIONINFO
 FILEVERSION 1,0,0,1
 PRODUCTVERSION 12,24,1,1
 FILEFLAGSMASK 0x3fL
#ifdef _DEBUG
 FILEFLAGS 0x1L
#else
 FILEFLAGS 0x0L
#endif
 FILEOS 0x40004L
 FILETYPE 0x1L
 FILESUBTYPE 0x0L
BEGIN
    BLOCK "StringFileInfo"
    BEGIN
        BLOCK "0c0a04b0"
        BEGIN
            VALUE "CompanyName", "MasterLink Software SBS"
            VALUE "FileDescription", "Shop Service Writer"
            VALUE "FileVersion", "12.2.4.0"
            VALUE "InternalName", "MLS12.exe"
            VALUE "LegalCopyright", "Copyright (C) MasterLinkSoftware 1982-2023"
            VALUE "OriginalFilename", "MLS12.exe"
            VALUE "ProductName", "<Service Shop Writer>"
            VALUE "ProductVersion", "12.24.1.1"
        END
    END
    BLOCK "VarFileInfo"
    BEGIN
        VALUE "Translation", 0x09, 1200
    END
END
 
Using FWH 22.06, Harbour, MS Visual Studio Community 2022.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
Jimmy
Posts: 1740
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:32 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Version Info

Post by Jimmy »

hi Tim,

i have posted working Sample for MSVC 64 Bit here
https://forums.fivetechsupport.com/view ... 0&p=254731

Code: Select all | Expand

 1 24 "Windows11.Manifest"

1 VERSIONINFO
FILEVERSION 0,0,1,27
PRODUCTVERSION 1,0,0,0
FILEOS 0x4
FILETYPE 0x1
try it if it work for you
greeting,
Jimmy
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2963
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Version Info

Post by TimStone »

I think we are referring to two different things.

I posted about the info we could display in properties of an executable.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
Jimmy
Posts: 1740
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:32 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Version Info

Post by Jimmy »

TimStone wrote:I think we are referring to two different things.

I posted about the info we could display in properties of an executable.
do you mean this :?:
Image
greeting,
Jimmy
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2963
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Version Info

Post by TimStone »

Yes. A while back Antonio posted code that set it up, and it worked, but now it doesn't.

My code was derived from that original post.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
Jimmy
Posts: 1740
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:32 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Version Info

Post by Jimmy »

hi Tim
TimStone wrote:Yes. A while back Antonio posted code that set it up, and it worked, but now it doesn't.
My code was derived from that original post.
i had the Problem with 64 Bit App while 32 Bit App show it
so i compare *.RC with HMG and Xbase++ and found different Setting

this seems to work under 64 Bit and 32 Bit under Fivewin

Code: Select all | Expand

1 VERSIONINFO
FILEVERSION 0,0,1,27
PRODUCTVERSION 1,0,0,0
FILEOS 0x4
FILETYPE 0x1
greeting,
Jimmy
User avatar
TimStone
Posts: 2963
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Version Info

Post by TimStone »

After consulting a lot of online articles, and making modifications accordingly, I finally got the version info to work properly in both 32 bit and 64 bit applications.

I am using FWH 12.06, Harbour, and Visual Studio 2022.

Here is the code placed in my .rc file that actually has worked:

Code: Select all | Expand

1 VERSIONINFO
 FILEVERSION 12,3,0,0
 PRODUCTVERSION 12,3, 0, 0
 FILEFLAGS 0x00000001
 FILEFLAGSMASK 0x0000003F
 FILEOS 0x00040000 
 FILETYPE 0x1
 FILESUBTYPE 0x040
 BEGIN
    BLOCK "StringFileInfo"
    BEGIN
        BLOCK "040904B0"
        BEGIN
            VALUE "CompanyName", "MasterLink Software SBS"
            VALUE "FileDescription", "Shop Service Writer"
            VALUE "FileVersion", "12.30.0.0"
            VALUE "InternalName", "MLS12.exe"
            VALUE "LegalCopyright", "Copyright (C) MasterLinkSoftware 1982-2023"
            VALUE "OriginalFilename", "MLS12.exe"
            VALUE "ProductName", "<Service Shop Writer>"
            VALUE "ProductVersion", "12.30.0.0"
        END
    END
    BLOCK "VarFileInfo"
    BEGIN
        VALUE "Translation", 0x0409, 1200
    END
 END

 
According to several references, there is no value for a 64 bit OS, so using the value for NT will work.

Some of the discrepancies I found had to do with the values before the BLOCK CODE. Those are fixed values and may have changed from earlier versions of VC and Windows.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
Post Reply