Reduced sample that shows GPF running HRB files with FWH

Reduced sample that shows GPF running HRB files with FWH

Postby Patrick Mast » Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:46 pm

Hello,

This ZIP file: http://www.xHarbour.net/Test_HRB.zip
Contains a reduced sample that shows a GPF when using HRB files with xHarbour Builder + FWH.

Test.prg try's to run the HRB script 'TestScript.hrb' 20 times. Sometimes the GPF occurs after running the HRB 8 times, sometimes after running it 10 times.

This is what Test.prg contains (Compile to EXE):
Code: Select all  Expand view
#include "fivewin.ch"

PROCEDURE Main
LOCAL oScript,f

   FOR f=1 TO 10
      ? f
      oScript:=__hrbLoad( "testScript.hrb" )
      __hrbDo( oScript )
      __hrbUnload( oScript )
   NEXT

RETURN


This is TestScript.prg (Compile to a HRB)
Code: Select all  Expand view
PROCEDURE Test_Static()
   LOCAL aTemp, ff
     
   aTemp:={ {1, "111111111"}, ;
            {2, "222222222"}, ;
            {3, "333333333"}  }

   ff:=Test_AScan(aTemp)
   
   Alert("Test")
   
RETURN

STATIC FUNCTION Test_AScan(aTemp)   
RETURN AScan(aTemp, {|x| x[ 2]="222222222"})


The compiled 'Test.exe' and 'TestScript.HRB' files are here:
http://www.xHarbour.net/Test_HRB_Binaries.zip

If I compile the exact same files without FWH (simple delete the '#include "fivewin.ch"' line and recompile), the GPF does not happen.

Antonio, can you please take a look at this?

Thanks!

Patrick
User avatar
Patrick Mast
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:42 pm

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Sep 19, 2007 6:05 pm

Patrick,

Please change Alert() into MsgAlert() and try it again, thanks
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42079
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Patrick Mast » Wed Sep 19, 2007 7:46 pm

Antonio Linares wrote:Please change Alert() into MsgAlert() and try it again, thanks

Thanks for looking at it Antonio, but that's not the point. I know, if you change something in the script it does not GPF anymore.

Problem is the GPF itself. Test.exe should NOT GPF. This is a sample that shows that there is something wrong running a HRB in xHarbour Builder + FWH. I'm not blaming FWh, or xHarbour Builder or anyone else, I just try to find the cause and a fix. ;-)

If you for example change the STATIC FUNCTION in the script with FUNCTION, it also does not GPF. But again, that's not the point. I have several scripts that GPF in my WinFakt app, it's just random and thus very hard to find why winfakt.exe GPF's. I found out that this reduced sample shows WHY my app GPF's.

So, we don't need to change the script, we need to find WHy it GPF's and than fix that. :)

Thanks again for looking at it Antonio.

Patrick
User avatar
Patrick Mast
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:42 pm

Postby Antonio Linares » Wed Sep 19, 2007 8:24 pm

Patrick,

> if you change something in the script it does not GPF anymore.

Then it is not a FWH issue. Its a HRB issue.

You should be able to trace it and fix it. Or aren't you the Patrick Mast that sells commercial xHarbour ? ;-)
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42079
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Patrick Mast » Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:19 am

Antonio Linares wrote:> if you change something in the script it does not GPF anymore.

Then it is not a FWH issue. Its a HRB issue.

You should be able to trace it and fix it. Or aren't you the Patrick Mast that sells commercial xHarbour ? ;-)

Exact the same code without FWh does not GPF.

Patrick
User avatar
Patrick Mast
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:42 pm

Postby Antonio Linares » Thu Sep 20, 2007 7:33 am

Patrick,

I told you to replace Alert() with MsgAlert() and test it. Do it please

FWH is not related to HRB files at all. If you get a GPF is simply because the global symbols table grows and thats a HRB issue not FWH's
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42079
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Postby Patrick Mast » Thu Sep 20, 2007 7:39 am

Antonio Linares wrote:I told you to replace Alert() with MsgAlert() and test it. Do it please

FWH is not related to HRB files at all. If you get a GPF is simply because the global symbols table grows and thats a HRB issue not FWH's

Ok, I will try to make more tests and see where it GPF's in other situations.

Patrick
User avatar
Patrick Mast
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 8:42 pm


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 56 guests