Console and GUI application

Console and GUI application

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Sat Sep 18, 2010 6:36 pm

Dear friends, I'm wondering if there is a way to build an application that uses some text console forms and some gui forms.

Any ideas?

Thank you in advance.

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8711
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby George » Sat Sep 18, 2010 7:10 pm

Hi Enrico
Have you tried Alaska xBase software?
http://www.alaska-software.com/products/xpp/xpp.shtm

Regards

George
George
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 6:49 pm

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Sat Sep 18, 2010 7:13 pm

Sorry, I need to do it using FWH and xHarbour. Thank you anyway.

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8711
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby Antonio Linares » Sun Sep 19, 2010 7:46 am

Enrico,

The console is very much restricted, so the easiest way is to simulate a console so you have full GUI capabilities also.

Please review FWH\samples\ter_emu.prg
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42082
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Sun Sep 19, 2010 9:00 am

I have a console application and would like to port to GUI one form at a time. But I suppose it's not possible... :-(

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8711
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby Antonio Linares » Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:33 pm

Enrico,

Do you mean without modifying it ?
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42082
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Sun Sep 19, 2010 1:04 pm

No, I'd like to modify one form at a time. As an example: I take a PRG and start to convert it to FWH but the rest of the application must continue to work in console mode. Is it possible?

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8711
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby Antonio Linares » Sun Sep 19, 2010 1:16 pm

Enrico,

Yes, it is possible, but you have to use a different GT library. The one that Pritpal developed: GTWVW

I have not tested it myself, but based on Pritpal's comments, it should be the one to use.
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42082
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:18 pm

I'm not sure that gtwww can help me. This is an example I'd like to get:

MODULE1.PRG

Code: Select all  Expand view
@ 1, 1 SAY "Name:" GET cName

READ


MODULE2.PRG

Code: Select all  Expand view
#include "Fivewin.ch"

DEFINE DIALOG oDlg

REDEFINE GET cName ID 101

ACTIVATE DIALOG oDlg


Module1.prg and module2.prg are two modules of a single EXE. Can I do it using gtwww?

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8711
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby Pritpal Bedi » Sun Sep 19, 2010 8:45 pm

Antonio Linares wrote:Yes, it is possible, but you have to use a different GT library. The one that Pritpal developed: GTWVW

I have not tested it myself, but based on Pritpal's comments, it should be the one to use.


It is not GTWVW.
It is GTWVG.

If FWH is used with Harbour, then YES, you can use both protocols at once.

But Enrico wants it with xHarbour and I do not know the current state
if GTWVG is usable with xHarbour at all or not. Plus it is possible only
in MT mode which is well tuned in Harbour.

So let me know if Harbour is an option then I ca provide details how to ?
enjoy hbIDEing...
Pritpal Bedi
http://hbide.vouch.info/
User avatar
Pritpal Bedi
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:27 am

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Sun Sep 19, 2010 8:50 pm

Pritpal Bedi wrote:So let me know if Harbour is an option then I ca provide details how to ?


Sorry, no, it's not an option.

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8711
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby sygecom » Wed Sep 22, 2010 1:31 am

It is possible but with xHarbour, see the link below you can find some examples.
Just be careful to get the code at the GUI. PRG separate console.
And you have to use the GTWVW or just want a little more appeal WVWTOOLS can use as a bridge between the console and Gui
http://www.4shared.com/dir/9103314/4c5c ... aring.html
User avatar
sygecom
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 3:18 am
Location: Brasil

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby Enrico Maria Giordano » Wed Sep 22, 2010 7:02 am

Thank you. I gave up for the moment.

EMG
User avatar
Enrico Maria Giordano
 
Posts: 8711
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: Roma - Italia

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby TimStone » Fri Sep 24, 2010 12:29 am

OK ... how about two applications. You have your GUI, but let it call your developing Windows program which contains your transformed functions. Each menu option to call a .prg would pass a parameter, and in your windows "Main.prg" you call the program based on the passed parameter. I would suggest parameters be "F###" which allows you to designate 999 functions. It might not be the speediest solution but it sure would do the job.
Tim Stone
http://www.MasterLinkSoftware.com
http://www.autoshopwriter.com
timstone@masterlinksoftware.com
Using: FWH 23.10 with Harbour 3.2.0 / Microsoft Visual Studio Community 2022-24 32/64 bit
User avatar
TimStone
 
Posts: 2944
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 1:45 pm
Location: Trabuco Canyon, CA USA

Re: Console and GUI application

Postby James Bott » Fri Sep 24, 2010 1:28 am

I have done this in the past by allowing the users to continue using the old DOS version and also the new Windows version. The Windows version was incomplete but users could open both programs and switch back and forth using the taskbar. I had no complaints because they all were glad to get the use of the new program even if it was incomplete.

Regards,
James
User avatar
James Bott
 
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nageswaragunupudi and 97 guests

cron