Another ADS issue

Another ADS issue

Postby Marcelo Via Giglio » Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:32 pm

Hello to all,

I am testing the FWH9.06 + xH from this distribution ADS Local 9.1

When I use temporary table, per example:

Code: Select all  Expand view
SELECT clients.*, 0.0 as salary INTO #temp FROM clients


with previus version of RDD, like ADS 7.1 was possible to modify the
salary column like
(alias) -> salary := <value>

but with the last version this is not more possible I obtain a write error message.

I think this is a bug in the RDD, do you have the same problem?

Regards

Marcelo
Marcelo Via Giglio
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Cochabamba - Bolivia

Re: Another ADS issue

Postby Antonio Linares » Thu Sep 10, 2009 6:36 am

Marcelo,

What error is it ?
regards, saludos

Antonio Linares
www.fivetechsoft.com
User avatar
Antonio Linares
Site Admin
 
Posts: 42081
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 5:47 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Another ADS issue

Postby fraxzi » Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:31 am

Marcelo Via Giglio wrote:Hello to all,

I am testing the FWH9.06 + xH from this distribution ADS Local 9.1

When I use temporary table, per example:

Code: Select all  Expand view
SELECT clients.*, 0.0 as salary INTO #temp FROM clients


with previus version of RDD, like ADS 7.1 was possible to modify the
salary column like
(alias) -> salary := <value>

but with the last version this is not more possible I obtain a write error message.

I think this is a bug in the RDD, do you have the same problem?

Regards

Marcelo



Sir,

I used xHB 1.21 + FWH 9.01 + ( ADS9.1 and/or ADS8.1 ) with your concern:

Code: Select all  Expand view

                dbSelectArea( 0 )

                cSQL := 'select RRefDef.*, 0.0 as salary INTO #temp from RRefDef'

                IF AdsCreateSQLStatement( 'temp', ADS_CDX, hADS )

                   IF ADSExecuteSQLDirect( cSQL )
                      temp->salary := 1.1
                      xBrowse( 'temp', AdsVersion()  )
                   ELSE
                      MsgAlert(cSQL,'Unable to Execute SQL Statement - SQL Temp Alias')
                   END

                ELSE
                   MsgStop('Unable to Create SQL Statement', 'SQL Temp Alias')
                END
 



The above works well on both LOCAL/SERVER.


Regards,

-Frances
Kind Regards,
Frances

Fivewin for xHarbour v18.07
xHarbour v1.2.3.x
BCC 7.3 + PellesC8 ( Resource Compiler only)
ADS 10.1 / MariaDB
Crystal Reports 8.5/9.23 DE
xMate v1.15
User avatar
fraxzi
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 4:28 am
Location: Philippines

Re: Another ADS issue

Postby Marcelo Via Giglio » Thu Sep 10, 2009 12:47 pm

Antonio,

thanks for your attention, this was a rare behavior that I found when I tryed to use the last RDDADS and temporary tables

Fraxzi

OK, thanks for your test, this mean that I have hope, because I exposed the same question in the xharbour's google group and they didn't have an logical answer for this issue

I will try again with xH 1.21 + ADS 9.1, I will post the results here thanks again

For me, work with ADS LOCAL is really usefull I don't know why other user don't use it, you can:

use sql (the best)
transparent crypt tables
ricth data type (graphics, money, etc)
Advanced and fast filter
Client/server (BUT YES this is expensive)
use PHP, PERL, CLIPXNET........ with ADS server
.......
......
ALL this with ADT or DBFCDX files


best regards

Marcelo
Marcelo Via Giglio
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Cochabamba - Bolivia

Re: Another ADS issue

Postby fraxzi » Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:15 am

Marcelo Via Giglio wrote:Antonio,

thanks for your attention, this was a rare behavior that I found when I tryed to use the last RDDADS and temporary tables

Fraxzi

OK, thanks for your test, this mean that I have hope, because I exposed the same question in the xharbour's google group and they didn't have an logical answer for this issue

I will try again with xH 1.21 + ADS 9.1, I will post the results here thanks again

For me, work with ADS LOCAL is really usefull I don't know why other user don't use it, you can:

use sql (the best)
transparent crypt tables
ricth data type (graphics, money, etc)
Advanced and fast filter
Client/server (BUT YES this is expensive)
use PHP, PERL, CLIPXNET........ with ADS server
.......
......
ALL this with ADT or DBFCDX files


best regards

Marcelo



I agree. ADS LOCAL (or server) is the best. But this is an individual preference :)
It's so easy to port from client to server application using ADS.


Best regards,
-Frances
Kind Regards,
Frances

Fivewin for xHarbour v18.07
xHarbour v1.2.3.x
BCC 7.3 + PellesC8 ( Resource Compiler only)
ADS 10.1 / MariaDB
Crystal Reports 8.5/9.23 DE
xMate v1.15
User avatar
fraxzi
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 4:28 am
Location: Philippines

Re: Another ADS issue

Postby fraxzi » Fri Sep 11, 2009 6:35 am

I have my own version of that ADS issue... :?:
There's no record on my created temp table when I xbrowse it.. no error. all successful execution.

Anyone sharing idea? :wink:

Code: Select all  Expand view

       ...
                cSQL := "CREATE TABLE #TEMP ( [FName] CHAR(50) ); "+;
                            "INSERT INTO #TEMP VALUES ('Antonio Linares'); "

                IF AdsCreateSQLStatement( 'temp', ADS_CDX, hADSSERVER )

                   IF ADSExecuteSQLDirect( cSQL )
                      xBrowse( 'temp', 'ADS v'+AdsVersion()  )
                   ELSE

                      MsgAlert(cSQL,'Unable to Execute SQL Statement - SQL Temp Alias')
                   END

                ELSE

                   MsgStop('Unable to Create SQL Statement', 'SQL Temp Alias')
                END
   ...
 


Regards
Kind Regards,
Frances

Fivewin for xHarbour v18.07
xHarbour v1.2.3.x
BCC 7.3 + PellesC8 ( Resource Compiler only)
ADS 10.1 / MariaDB
Crystal Reports 8.5/9.23 DE
xMate v1.15
User avatar
fraxzi
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 4:28 am
Location: Philippines

Re: Another ADS issue

Postby fraxzi » Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:12 am

fraxzi wrote:I have my own version of that ADS issue... :?:
There's no record on my created temp table when I xbrowse it.. no error. all successful execution.

Anyone sharing idea? :wink:

Code: Select all  Expand view

       ...
                cSQL := "CREATE TABLE #TEMP ( [FName] CHAR(50) ); "+;
                            "INSERT INTO #TEMP VALUES ('Antonio Linares'); "

                IF AdsCreateSQLStatement( 'temp', ADS_CDX, hADSSERVER )

                   IF ADSExecuteSQLDirect( cSQL )
                      xBrowse( 'temp', 'ADS v'+AdsVersion()  )
                   ELSE

                      MsgAlert(cSQL,'Unable to Execute SQL Statement - SQL Temp Alias')
                   END

                ELSE

                   MsgStop('Unable to Create SQL Statement', 'SQL Temp Alias')
                END
   ...
 


Regards


Got IT!!!


Just added this:
Code: Select all  Expand view

 cSQL := "CREATE TABLE #TEMP ( [FName] CHAR(50) ); "+;
         "INSERT INTO #TEMP VALUES ('Antonio Linares'); "+;
         "SELECT * from #TEMP"
 


:D




Regards!
Kind Regards,
Frances

Fivewin for xHarbour v18.07
xHarbour v1.2.3.x
BCC 7.3 + PellesC8 ( Resource Compiler only)
ADS 10.1 / MariaDB
Crystal Reports 8.5/9.23 DE
xMate v1.15
User avatar
fraxzi
 
Posts: 811
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 4:28 am
Location: Philippines

Re: Another ADS issue

Postby Marcelo Via Giglio » Fri Sep 11, 2009 4:23 pm

Hello,

I solved the problem, I need to create the SQL like:

Code: Select all  Expand view
SELECT *, 0000000.00 AS salary FROM clients


we need to define the data size to use it, before with ADS 7.1 I used the ROUND function to create a float poit value but but ADS 9.1 this is not more possible,
this new way is compatible with ADS 7.1 and 9.1

Regards and thanks for your time

Marcelo
Marcelo Via Giglio
 
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:33 pm
Location: Cochabamba - Bolivia


Return to FiveWin for Harbour/xHarbour

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 93 guests