Page 1 of 1

Question about WinExec()

Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:45 pm
by driessen
Hello,

Why isn't this code working?

Code: Select all | Expand

WinExec("TASKKILL.EXE /IM OUTLOOK.EXE /F",0)
When I try this command line in the command prompt, it is working just fine.

Someone any idea?

Thanks.

Re: Question about WinExec()

Posted: Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:04 pm
by karinha
Maybe:

Code: Select all | Expand


WinExec("TASKKILL /F /s terminal /u password /im OUTLOOK.EXE",0)
 


Regards.

Re: Question about WinExec()

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 1:38 am
by hua
Michel,
Maybe can try experimenting with ShellExecute()

Re: Question about WinExec()

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 7:36 am
by driessen
Thanks for your suggestion, but ShellExecute() doesn't do the job either.

So I developed a solution by going arround the problem :

Code: Select all | Expand

IF FILE(nProg1 + "KILLOUT.BAT") ; DELETE FILE(nProg1 + "KILLOUT.BAT") ; ENDIF
aOutFile := FCREATE(nProg1 + "KILLOUT.BAT")
FWRITE(aOutFile,"TASKKILL.EXE /F /IM OUTLOOK.EXE")
FCLOSE(aOutFile)
WinExec(nProg1 + "KILLOUT.BAT",0)
SYSWAIT(1)
IF FILE(nProg1 + "KILLOUT.BAT") ; DELETE FILE(nProg1 + "KILLOUT.BAT") ; ENDIF
And guess what? It works this way.

Thank you.

Re: Question about WinExec()

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 8:20 am
by Antonio Linares
very good!

Re: Question about WinExec()

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 9:03 am
by Enrico Maria Giordano
driessen wrote:Hello,

Why isn't this code working?

Code: Select all | Expand

WinExec("TASKKILL.EXE /IM OUTLOOK.EXE /F",0)
When I try this command line in the command prompt, it is working just fine.

Someone any idea?

Thanks.


I tried your sample as is and it worked fine.

EMG

Re: Question about WinExec()

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:54 pm
by Euclides
Hi to all.

WinExec("TASKKILL.EXE /IM NOTEPAD.EXE /F",0)
did not work im my computer (W 8.1)
but...

WinExec("CMD /C TASKKILL.EXE /IM NOTEPAD.EXE /F",0)
did the job.
Regards, Euclides

Re: Question about WinExec()

Posted: Tue Apr 20, 2021 4:03 pm
by driessen
Thank you very much for your suggestion.
I'll try it out tomorrow.

After edit : Thank you so much. It works fine now.

Re: Question about WinExec()

Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2021 5:52 am
by Otto
Hello Euclides,

May I ask for your help.
Do you think that I could replace this function with a Winexec().

Code: Select all | Expand


function runIndxprg( nkdnr )
    local cText := ""
   
    cText += "cd\" + CRLF
    cText += "
cd C:\Windows\System32" + CRLF
    cText += "
REM window-position=y col,x row" + CRLF  
    cText += "
start chrome --new-window --app=https://test.com.space/formular/index.prg?recnr=" + ALLTRIM(STR( nkdnr )) + "--window-position=600,300  --window-size=1500,730"

    memowrit("c:\xwinhotel\formular.bat", cText )
   
    waitrun( "c:\xwinhotel\formular.bat", 0 )

return nil
   
 


Sincerely
Otto

Re: Question about WinExec()

Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2021 1:21 pm
by Euclides
Hi Otto.
The same way...

Code: Select all | Expand


  nkdnr := 10
  WinExec("CMD /C start chrome --new-window --app=https://test.com.space/formular/index.prg?recnr=" + ALLTRIM(STR( nkdnr )) + " --window-position=600,300  --window-size=1500,730",0)
 

It opened the window with the correct size but got DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN error.
But...

Code: Select all | Expand


   WinExec("CMD /C start chrome --new-window --app=http://fivewin.com.br/index.php?/files/ --window-position=600,300 --window-size=1500,730",0)
 

Opens the site OK but does not respect the window sposition and size parameters
With your program compiled, got the same DNS_PROBE_FINISHED_NXDOMAIN error.
Regards, Euclides

Re: Question about WinExec()

Posted: Wed Apr 21, 2021 4:36 pm
by Otto
Hello Euclides,

Thanks, it works very well. I run the program in localhost.

I want to make my WINHOTEL extensions in the future with mod harbour since we can access the same databases.
Thanks again. The call is much safer now. No bat-file - which you can change - in between.

Best regards,
Otto
Image