quotation for a Control

Post Reply
User avatar
ukservice
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: John

quotation for a Control

Post by ukservice »

Hello.

I would like to request a quotation for a control.

I am interested in a control similar to this: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=21772&hilit=AUTOGET

It should work as http://jqueryui.com/demos/autocomplete/#default

I may indicate either an Array or the field of a DBF.

Anyone who is interested in developing it please send me a quotation at ukservice.software@gmail.com

Thank you very much.

Best regards,
FWH 11.11, Harbour 3.1 and Borland C++ 5.82
User avatar
MdaSolution
Posts: 401
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 2:33 pm

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by MdaSolution »

U can use AUTOGET CLASS

before create an array from dbf with wich U want for sample :

AAdd( aArray, ALLTRIM(FIELD->CUSTOMER))
HERE RUN OK
FWH .. BC582.. xharbour
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by James Bott »

What features of the java control are you interested in that are not in the FW control?

I seem to remember that the dropdown list was one of them.

I also notice that the java control lists all items that contain the search string, not just those that start with the search string. Is that also something you want? I can't really see that as being too useful and it will slow down searching considerably.

Regards,
James
User avatar
ukservice
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: John

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by ukservice »

Thank you for reply.

Please, go to http://jqueryui.com/demos/autocomplete/#default and type Ja

I need the menu to let the user select Java or Javascript. This feature is not included in autoget.
FWH 11.11, Harbour 3.1 and Borland C++ 5.82
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by James Bott »

>I need the menu to let the user select Java or Javascript. This feature is not included in autoget.

So you are saying that you want the dropdown list?

I don't know about the autoget class, but in one that I wrote the user could type JA to get Java displayed in the GET. Or, they could continue to type javas to get Javascript displayed in the GET. Is this acceptable? Note that this requires five keystrokes, and the dropdown list method requires only four (j,a, down arrow, down arrow). However, these four keystrokes are actually more difficult since you have to move your hand to the arrow keys.

Regards,
James
User avatar
ukservice
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: John

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by ukservice »

Or, they could continue to type javas to get Javascript displayed in the GET. Is this acceptable


This is how Autoget works. But what I need is that Java and Javascript appear into a dropdown and the user could pick up one, like the example.
FWH 11.11, Harbour 3.1 and Borland C++ 5.82
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by James Bott »

Theoretically, you should be able to do this with the DROPDOWN style of the Combobox, however, it seems that a number of the control's features are broken or never worked correctly. I am looking into this.

Regards,
James
User avatar
Daniel Garcia-Gil
Posts: 2365
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Isla de Margarita
Contact:

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by Daniel Garcia-Gil »

Hello

i sent you a email with a prototypes... did you received?
our best documentation is the source code
Isla de Margarita Venezuela.
danielgarciagil@gmail.com
http://tdolphin.blogspot.com/
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTI5N ... rc=global9
User avatar
ukservice
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 3:09 pm
Location: John

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by ukservice »

Hello.

Yes, that´s what I need.

Two little things:

When I select an Item, GET control must respect total length so I can write more words.

If I type a value not present in the Array (ae Myhouse), a double line is painted under get control.

Also, Mr. Nao told me that it would be included in FW 08 or 09.

Thank you very much.
FWH 11.11, Harbour 3.1 and Borland C++ 5.82
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by James Bott »

Daniel,

When using the combobox style DROPDOWN, I find that the Open() method is not working and the var lIncSearch is also not working (no incremental searching).

I am using FWH 10.8 so these may have been fixed since then.

Regards,
James
User avatar
Daniel Garcia-Gil
Posts: 2365
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Isla de Margarita
Contact:

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by Daniel Garcia-Gil »

James

we didn't made change in the class combobox after your version

could you provide a little sample ?

thanks

In the prototype sent to ukservise, i didn't use combobox, was a new class...
apparently Mr Rao is working in same class, i will wait for him, for now i stoped the development
our best documentation is the source code
Isla de Margarita Venezuela.
danielgarciagil@gmail.com
http://tdolphin.blogspot.com/
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTI5N ... rc=global9
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by James Bott »

David,

Here is a sample.

James


Code: Select all | Expand

/*
Purpose: Test DROPDOWN style of Combobox
Date   : 08/11/2011
Author : James Bott
Note   : Using FWH 10.08
*/


#include "fivewin.ch"

function main()
   local cItem:="Dog               "
   local aItems:={"House", "Car", "Cat", "Dog", "Java", "Frog", "Javascript", "wagon"}
   local oDlg, oCombo

   aItems:= asort( aItems )

   Define dialog oDlg

   @ 1,10 combobox oCombo;
     var cItem ;
     items aItems;
     style CBS_DROPDOWN;
     of oDlg ;
     pixel size 150,200;
     on edit change (oCombo:oGet:varput("Dog           "), oCombo:refresh() )

     oCombo:bGotFocus:= {|| oCombo:open() } // doesn't work

     oCombo:lIncsearch:=.t.  // not working

     // This is not working.
     oCombo:open()
     oCombo:refresh()

   activate dialog oDlg on init (oCombo:open() ) // Open() doesn't work

return nil

// eof
 
User avatar
Daniel Garcia-Gil
Posts: 2365
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:46 pm
Location: Isla de Margarita
Contact:

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by Daniel Garcia-Gil »

James

about open...

Code: Select all | Expand


/*
Purpose: Test DROPDOWN style of Combobox
Date   : 08/11/2011
Author : James Bott
Note   : Using FWH 10.08
*/


#include "fivewin.ch"

function main()
   local cItem:="Dog               "
   local aItems:={"House", "Car", "Cat", "Dog", "Java", "Frog", "Javascript", "wagon"}
   local oDlg, oCombo

   aItems:= asort( aItems )

   Define dialog oDlg

   @ 1,10 combobox oCombo;
     var cItem ;
     items aItems;
     style CBS_DROPDOWN;
     of oDlg ;
     pixel size 150,200;
     on edit change (oCombo:oGet:varput("Dog           "), oCombo:refresh() )

     //oCombo:bGotFocus:= {|| oCombo:open() } // doesn't work

     oCombo:lIncsearch:=.t.  // not working

     // This is not working.
     //oCombo:open()
     //oCombo:refresh()
     
     oDlg:bStart = {||oCombo:open(), oCombo:bGotFocus:= {|| oCombo:open() }  }
     
   activate dialog oDlg //on init (oCombo:open() ) // Open() doesn't work

return nil

// eof
 
 


for lIncsearch i'll review the case
our best documentation is the source code
Isla de Margarita Venezuela.
danielgarciagil@gmail.com
http://tdolphin.blogspot.com/
https://www.dropbox.com/referrals/NTI5N ... rc=global9
User avatar
James Bott
Posts: 4840
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Contact:

Re: quotation for a Control

Post by James Bott »

David,

> oDlg:bStart = {||oCombo:open(), oCombo:bGotFocus:= {|| oCombo:open() } }

OK, this works but it has the strange side effect of changing the mouse cursor to an hourglass whenever it is over the dialog (while the control is open). Are you seeing the same thing with the newer version?

Regards,
James
Post Reply